Skip to main content

Lean Government Resources: Home

Keep waste down and efficiency up with these tools focused on lean government principles and Six Sigma.

Books, DVDs, databases, and eBooks

The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook blends Lean and Six Sigma tools and concepts, providing expert advice on how to determine which tool within a "family" is best for different purposes. Packed with detailed examples and step-by-step instructions, it's the ideal handy reference guide to help Green and Black Belts make the transition from the classroom to the field.

Lean Change LiveLessons (Video Training): Achieving Agile Transformation with Kanban, Kotter, and Lean Startup

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

In Lean Change LiveLessons, Jeff Anderson and Alexis Hui provide training on how to manage Lean and Agile change initiatives using the Lean Change method. Change agent will learn how to leverage two key concepts, negotiated change and validated learning, to iterate through an Agile change. By the end of the LiveLessons, viewers will be equipped with a set of tools to start applying to their Agile change initiatives.

Lean Change LiveLessons: Achieving Agile Transformation

Lean Integration

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

“Lean Integration is an excellent resource for anyone struggling with the challenges of performing integration for a complex enterprise.” –Steve J. Dennis, Integration Competency Center Director, Nike. This book demonstrates how to use proven “lean” techniques to take control over the entire integration process. John Schmidt and David Lyle show how to establish “integration factories” that leverage the powerful benefits of repeatability and continuous improvement across every integration project you undertake.

The Lean Six Sigma Handbook

Although Lean and Six Sigma appear to be quite different, when used together they have shown to deliver unprecedented improvements to quality and profitability. The Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Handbook: Tools and Methods for Process Acceleration explains how to integrate these seemingly dissimilar approaches to increase production speed while decreasing variations and costs in your organization.

Business Source Premier

1821 - Current
Covers topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade, and technology. It contains full text for over 925 journals and abstracts for nearly 1600 popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.

The Lean Book of Lean

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

The Lean Book of Lean provides a succinct overview of the concepts of Lean, explains them in everyday terms, and shows how the general principles can be applied in any business or personal situation. Disengaging the concept of Lean from any particular industry or sector, this book brings Lean out of the factory to help you apply it anywhere, anytime. You'll learn the major points and ideas along with practical tips and hints, and find additional insight in the illustrative examples.

Lean UX: Designing Great Products with Agile Teams

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

Lean UX has become the preferred approach to interaction design, tailor-made for today’s agile teams. In this video workshop, Agile advocates Jeff Gothelf and Josh Seiden expand on the valuable Lean UX principles, tactics, and techniques covered in their Lean UX book to show how product teams can easily incorporate design, experimentation, iteration, and continuous learning into their Agile process.

Lean UX: Designing Great Products with Agile Teams

Business Collection

1965 - Current
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.

Visual Six Sigma

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

Visual Six Sigma provides the statistical techniques that help you get more information from your data. A unique emphasis on the visual allows you to take a more active role in data-driven decision making, so you can leverage your contextual knowledge to pose relevant questions and make more sound decisions. You'll learn dynamic visualization and exploratory data analysis techniques that help you identify occurrences and sources of variation, and the strategies and processes that make Six Sigma work for your organization.

Non-Invasive Data Governance

State Library Safari account requiredState Library Safari account required

Data-governance programs focus on authority and accountability for the management of data as a valued organizational asset. Data Governance should not be about command-and-control, yet at times could become invasive or threatening to the work, people and culture of an organization. Non-Invasive Data Governance™ focuses on formalizing existing accountability for the management of data and improving formal communications, protection, and quality efforts through effective stewarding of data resources.

A slice of Six Sigma

Throughout the DVD you will see the DMAIC problem-solving funnel being used to solve an everyday problem. In this case (and in GBMP's usual comical yet easy-to-understand manner) - Ron Pujalte ... always gets the smallest slice of pizza and he's fed up! You'll also hear from many companies that have used Six Sigma successfully to address problems and lean about some of their result. What types of companies can use Six Sigma and what problems can Six Sigma solve? Just about all of them! And now you have the perfect training tool to get your team thinking about how Six Sigma can help solve all kinds of real world problems

A slice of Six Sigma

Journal Articles

Loading