Skip to main content

Motivational Interviewing

Continue to learn about this counseling technique after the training session ends.

Books, DVDs, databases, and eBooks

Motivational Interviewing in Groups

A unique clinical resource, this book shows how to infuse the methods and spirit of motivational interviewing (MI) into group-based interventions. The authors demonstrate how the four processes of MI with individuals translate into group contexts. They explain both the challenges and the unique benefits of MI groups, guiding practitioners to build the skills they need to lead psychoeducational, psychotherapeutic, and support groups successfully. A wealth of clinical examples are featured. Chapters by contributing authors present innovative group applications targeting specific problems: substance use disorders, dual diagnosis, chronic health conditions, weight management, adolescent risk behaviors, intimate partner violence, and sexual offending.

MEDLINE Complete

MEDLINE Complete

1840 - Current

MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for over 2,500 medical journals, many available with no embargo allowing access to the most current information. This resource provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Positive Psychology in Practice

Positive Psychology in Practice, Second Edition moves beyond the theoretical to show how positive psychology is being used in real-world settings, and the new directions emerging in the field. An international team of contributors representing the best and brightest in the discipline review the latest research, discuss how the findings are being used in practice, explore new ideas for application, and discuss focus points for future research. Integrate positive psychology into assessments, life coaching, and other therapies.

Motivational Interviewing in the Treatment of Psychological Problems

Leading experts are brought together to describe novel MI applications in the treatment of anxiety, depression, PTSD, suicidal behaviour, obsessive-compulsive disorder, eating disorders, and other conditions.

Origins & spirit of motivational interviewing

Origins & spirit of motivational interviewing

Dr. Stephen Rollnick, co-founder of Motivational Interviewing (MI), describes how and why MI is being increasingly used by clinicians in the treatment of mental health disorders. Learn of the origins and essence of MI and its defining principles.

The Handbook of Knowledge-Based Coaching

This handbook is an interdisciplinary collection of coaching theory and practice by over twenty practitioners from across five countries. It provides overview of all the theoretical constructs that are used in current coaching practices, and spans theories ranging from adult psychology to self-help. With summaries of theoretical traditions related to coaching and concrete applications, the book is ideal for coaches who want to better understand their practice, expand their toolkit, and increase their credibility.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES

1894 - Current

American Psychological Association (APA) publishes this definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Motivational Interviewing, Third Edition

In this text, the authors explain how to work through ambivalence to facilitate change, present detailed guidelines for using their approach, and reflect on the process of learning MI.

CBT for Chronic Pain and Psychological Well-Being

The first skills training manual in the field of chronic pain and mental health disorders to provide an integrated session-by-session outline that is customizable for clinicians Adaptive and evidence-based - integrates skill sets from DBT, ACT, Behavioral Activation, and Motivational Interviewing to address the unique needs of individual chronic pain sufferers. Includes invaluable measurement and tracking tools for clinicians required to report outcomes.

Guiding the learning of motivational interviewing: a resource for trainers

Guiding the learning of motivational interviewing: a resource for trainers

This DVD captures the highlights of an introductory 3-day motivational interviewing (MI) training facilitated by Steven Malcolm Berg-Smith in December 2008. The primary intention of the DVD is to provide MI trainers a resource to closely observe a training in action, and in the process, gather new ideas for facilitating effective MI trainings.

Motivational Interviewing in Social Work Practice

Motivational interviewing (MI) offers powerful tools for helping social work clients draw on their strengths to make desired changes in their lives. This reader-friendly book introduces practitioners and students to MI and demonstrates how to integrate this evidence-based method into direct practice. Melinda Hohman and her associates describe innovative applications for diverse clients and practice areas, including substance abuse treatment, mental health, child welfare, community organizing, and others. Extensive sample dialogues illustrate MI skills in action with individuals and groups. The book also presents best practices for MI training, teaching, and agency-wide integration. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series.

Motivational interviewing: helping people change

Motivational interviewing: helping people change

This two-part DVD set offers a detailed illustration of Motivational Interviewing. Based on the revised and updated Motivational Interviewing, 3rd edition (2013), this material introduces the new four-process method of Motivational Interviewing. With your purchase, you'll get more than 6 hours of video material, including a discussion between Drs. William R. Miller, Theresa B. Moyers and Stephen Rollnick, as well as 14 example interviews that illustrate Motivational Interviewing's many real-world applications.

Online Journals

Journal of Consulting & Clinical Psychology

Journal of Consulting & Clinical Psychology

Covers research on techniques of diagnosis and treatment in disordered behavior as well as studies of populations of clinical interest.

Psychology of Addictive Behaviors

Psychology of Addictive Behaviors

Covers alcoholism, drug abuse, eating disorders, smoking and nicotine addiction, and other compulsive behaviors such as gambling.

Journal of Psychotherapy Integration

Journal of Psychotherapy Integration

Takes a multimodal approach to the study of psychotherapy and behavior change.

Addiction Research and Theory

Addiction Research and Theory

Examines addictive behaviours from a variety of perspectives and methods of inquiry.

Articles on MI

Loading ...

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us