Skip to main content

State Agency Subscriptions Review

Information pertaining to ORS 357.115, related to state agencies providing information about subscriptions to the State Library for review and approval.

2017-2019 Biennium Report

The State Library provided the 2017-2019 biennium summary report for ORS 357.115 to the Oregon State Legislature as part of the agency presentation for SB 5518. The Public Hearing was held on February 11, 2019.

Data Gathering Summary — Communications with State Agencies

The total number of state agencies, per the Oregon Accounting Manual, is 128.

Data Gathering - Agency Contacts and Subscriptions Reported
AGENCY DATA 2016 2018
Agency Communications # of Agencies % of Total Agencies # of Agencies % of Total Agencies
Agencies Contacted 115 89.84% 127 99.22%
Agency Responses 107 83.59% 94 73.44%
Subscription Reporting # of Agencies % of Total Agencies # of Agencies % of Total Agencies
Agencies Reporting Subscriptions 54 50.47% 58 61.70%
Agencies Reporting No Subscriptions 53 49.53% 36 38.30%
Positions Contacted at State Agencies
Positions Contacted, 2018 # of Agencies % of Agencies
management 65 50.78%
administrative support 29 22.66%
business and finance 15 11.72%
procurement 7 5.47%
communications 6 4.69%
research 3 2.34%
information technology 2 1.56%
no contact 1 0.78%

More state agencies were contacted for the 2018 subscriptions review — an increase from 115 to 127 agencies. However, the total number of state agencies that responded dropped — a decrease from 107 to 94 agencies.

The number of state agencies reporting subscriptions increased from 54 to 58 agencies, and the number of state agencies reporting no subscriptions decreased from 53 to 36 agencies. The increase of reported subscriptions may be related to communications that explained which subscriptions are reference- and research-related subscriptions.

Most positions that reported state agency subscriptions were from the management level (50%). This number also reflects the number of smaller agencies within the state.

State Agency Subscriptions for 2017-2019 Biennium — Highlights

Number of Subscriptions

  • The total number of subscriptions reported by state agencies for July 2017 through January 2019 was 582.
  • Most subscriptions (52.25%) were for newspapers, with the next highest percentages being databases (12.71%), journals (11.68%), and magazines (7.22%).

Duplicate Subscriptions

  • Duplicate subscriptions were determined at two levels: (a) between state agencies and (b) between state agencies and the State Library.
    • There were 294 duplicate subscriptions between state agencies. Most duplicate subscriptions (87.41%) were for newspapers.
    • There were 246 duplicate subscriptions between state agencies and the State Library. Most duplicate subscriptions (90.65%) were for newspapers.
  • Non-newspaper duplicate subscriptions were fairly minimal.
    • Between state agencies, 12.59% of duplicate subscriptions were for non-newspaper content. These included the Oregon Blue Book, a clinical support database, four magazines, three newsletters, two training sites, a news site, and a stock image site.
    • Between state agencies and the State Library, 9.35% of duplicate subscriptions were for non-newspaper content. These included the Oregon Blue Book, Oregon Administrative Rules, two journals, eight magazines, and a newsletter.
  • While some duplicate subscriptions may be reduced, other duplicate subscriptions will continue because of the specific reference and research information needs of state agencies.
    • Newspaper duplicate subscriptions cannot be reduced due to the limitations of library licensing options. Newspaper databases are often unable meet the format and version requirements of state agencies, and very few newspaper publishers provide multi-user, enterprise-level, or site license options to libraries. (Of the few that do, access is limited to online versions, which does not meet the format requirements for state agencies who subscribe to print newspapers.)
    • Non-newspaper duplicate subscriptions between state agencies may be reduced depending on agencies’ information needs.
      • These duplicate subscriptions occurred in different formats (print vs electronic), as well as both between state agencies and within multiple offices of the same agency.
      • A pilot project began in April 2018 to attempt to reduce a duplicate database subscription by leveraging ORS 357.115 to encourage a vendor to consolidate a contract between multiple state agencies via cooperative procurement. The State Library facilitated conversations before leaving the contract negotiation and review to the state agencies.
    • Non-newspaper duplicate subscriptions between state agencies and the State Library may also be reduced depending on agencies’ information needs.
      • Most non-newspaper duplicate subscriptions were in a different format than the State Library’s subscriptions. State agencies subscribed to print formats versus the State Library’s electronic access in databases.
      • During the 2018 subscriptions review process, library staff shared information with state agency liaisons regarding which subscriptions were also available from the State Library. In some cases, state agencies responded that they would cancel their agency subscriptions in favor of using the database versions provided by the State Library.

Subscription Statistics for 2017-2019 Biennium — Data Tables

State Agency Subscriptions by Format
Subscription Format # of Subscriptions % of Subscriptions
print 282 48.62%
electronic 245 41.90%
both print & electronic 55 9.48%
TOTAL 582 100.00%
State Agency Subscriptions by Type
Subscription Type # of Subscriptions % of Subscriptions
newspaper 306 52.58%
database 74 12.71%
journal 68 11.68%
magazine 42 7.22%
book 24 4.12%
newsletter 19 3.26%
training 14 2.41%
report 11 1.89%
data 10 1.72%
news site 10 1.72%
stock images 2 0.34%
platform 1 0.17%
software 1 0.17%
TOTAL 582 100.00%
Duplicate Subscriptions between State Agencies
Subscription Type # of Subscriptions % of Subscriptions % of Duplicates
newspaper 257 44.16% 87.41%
magazine 12 2.06% 4.08%
newsletter 8 1.37% 2.72%
training 8 1.37% 2.72%
book 3 0.52% 1.02%
database 2 0.34% 0.68%
news site 2 0.34% 0.68%
stock images 2 0.34% 0.68%
TOTAL 294 50.52%  
Duplicate Subscriptions between State Agencies and the State Library
Subscription Type # of Subscriptions % of Subscriptions % of Duplicates
newspaper 223 38.32% 90.65%
magazine 16 2.75% 6.50%
book 4 0.69% 1.63%
journal 2 0.34% 0.81%
newsletter 1 0.17% 0.41%
TOTAL 246 42.27%  
State Agency Subscriptions with No Duplication (not including the State Library of Oregon's subscriptions)
Subscription Type # of Subscriptions % of Subscriptions % of Duplicates
database 54 9.28% 28.13%
newspaper 39 6.70% 20.21%
book 20 3.44% 10.42%
journal 18 3.09% 9.38%
magazine 15 2.58% 7.81%
data 10 1.72% 5.21%
newsletter 10 1.72% 5.21%
report 10 1.72% 5.21%
news site 8 1.37% 4.17%
training 6 1.03% 3.13%
platform 1 0.17% 0.52%
software 1 0.17% 0.52%
TOTAL 192 32.99%  

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us