Skip to Main Content

Minimum Conditions for Public Libraries in Oregon

Minimum Conditions for Public Libraries in Oregon

For Public Libraries Serving Communities 2,000 or More

For Public Libraries Serving Communities of More Than 2,000

The State Library will be using the data collected from each public library through the Annual Statistical Report. For each of the minimum conditions, the related statistical question(s) are listed below. 

  1. Have at least one-half (50%) of its operational support from public funds
    • Publicly funded revenue divided by total operating library revenue
      • More information about this item is in the Library Revenue section of the Public Library Statistical Survey
         
  2. Be open to the public a minimum of 20 hours per week
    • Total open hours in a typical week
      • More information about this item is in "Part 8 - Library Hours & Visits" portion of the Technology and Facilities section of the Public Library Statistical Survey
         
  3. Provide a collection comprising of books, media, or electronic resources
    • Total circulation (6.22)
    • Total expenditures on collection development
      • More information about this item is in the Library Expenditures section (under Expenditures on Library Collections)
    • Total number of physical units added
    • Number of physical units (books)
    • Number of physical units (cassettes, compact discs, etc)
    • Number of physical units (video)
    • Number of local or local consortia electronic collections (5.35)
      • More information about these items is in the Collections section of the Public Library Statistical Report
         
  4. Offer at least one free public access computer with internet access
    • Total number of local Internet computers used by the general public
  5. Offer free public wireless internet access (wi-fi)
    • Tell us about your library's wireless Internet 
  6. Provide a website that enables local library users to access State Library of Oregon resources and services available to all Oregon residents: 
    • Please include the URL to your library's website or page.
    • Please include the URL from the library's website that links to the statewide databases provided by the State Library.
      • Gale/Cengage (for magazine/journal/news articles, reference eBooks, statistics, images, audio,  and video content)
    • Please include the URL from the library's website that links to the statewide online career skills and testing resources provided by the State Library.
      • EBSCO LearningExpress Library (for practice tests, skills-building for math, reading, and writing, computer skills tutorials, e-books and career development tools)
         
    • ​More information about these items is in the Administrative Information (under Library Website and Policies) section of the Public Library Statistical Report; see also this resource section regarding statewide databases.
       
  7. Dedicate at least .50 full-time equivalent (FTE) paid staff time exclusively to library functions
    • Total paid staff in FTE
      • More information about this item is in the Staff section of the Public Library Statistical Survey
         
  8. Have basic policies in place and accessible online for collection management, circulation and patron confidentiality that incorporates relevant American Library Association (ALA) professional ethical codes, rules, and guidelines.
    • Please include the URL from your library’s website for where your library's collection management policy is publicly posted, or the URL from your library’s website which links to the centrally hosted, publicly accessible collection management policy document.
    • Please include the URL from your library’s website for where your library's circulation policy is publicly posted, or the URL from your library’s website which links to a centrally hosted, publicly accessible circulation policy document.
    • Please include the URL from your library’s website for where your library's patron confidentiality policy is publicly posted, or the URL from your library’s website which links to a centrally hosted, publicly accessible patron confidentiality policy document.
  9. Provide basic services for reference and youth services 
    • ​Number of reference transactions
      • More information about this item is in the Programs and Services (under Reference) section of the Public Library Statistical Report
        ​
    • Library must enter a non-zero number for 3 of these 5 items:
      1. Number of children's program
      2. Number of young adult programs
      3. Does your library have a summer reading program?
        • More information about these items is in the Programs and Services section of the Public Library Statistical Report
      4. ​Number of first-time circulation of young adult materials
      5. First-time circulation of children's materials
  10. Complete the annual statistical report as required under ORS 357.520 and OAR 543-010-0035.