Skip to main content

Public Library Statistical Report

Help for completing the annual Oregon Public Library Statistical Report.

Part 5 - Library Collections - Section A: Physical Collections

PART 5 - LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

Report library holdings as of the end of the fiscal year, June 30. This section of the survey collects data on selected types of materials. It does not cover all materials (i.e. microform, scores, pictures, etc.) for which expenditures are reported under Part 4. Under this category report only items the library has acquired as part of the collection and cataloged, whether purchased, leased, licensed, or donated as gifts.

SECTION A - PHYSICAL COLLECTION 

Please report items that have physical form. A physical unit is usually a volume, but might also be a disc, cassette, etc. Items which are packaged together as a unit, e.g. two compact discs, and are generally checked out as a unit, should be counted as one physical unit. The first figure reported should represent the total number of materials on June 30. Do not subtract withdrawn materials from the physical units’ added figure. A report of the number of materials withdrawn is not required.  

Books and other print items

5.01 Number of physical units. Books in print format. Books are non-serial printed publications (including music and maps) that are bound in hard or soft covers, or in loose-leaf format. Include non-serial government documents. Report the number of physical units, including duplicates. Do not include downloadable e-book files or serials.

5.02 Number of physical units added. Number of physical units (see above for definition) added between July 1 and June 30. 

Audio materials - physical units

5.03 Audio materials – physical units. Audio materials circulate in a fixed, physical format on which sounds (only) are stored (recorded) and that can be reproduced (played back) mechanically, electronically, or both. Include records, audiocassettes, audio books, audio reels, cartridges, audio discs, and other sound recordings stored in a fixed, physical format. Do not include downloadable online audio files. Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g. two audiocassettes for one recorded book) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. 

5.04 Audio materials – physical units added. Number of physical audio material units (see above for definition) added between July 1 and June 30.

Video materials - physical units

5.05 Video materials – physical units. Video materials circulate in a fixed, physical format on which moving pictures are recorded, with or without sound. Video formats may include cassette tape, DVD, Blue-Ray, or CD-ROM. Do not include downloadable online video files. Report the number of units, including duplicates. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g. DVD discs for one movie) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit.  

5.06 Video materials – physical units added. Number of physical video material units (see above for definition) added between July 1 and June 30.

Print serial subscriptions - physical units

We are no longer collecting data on print serial subscriptions.

Other library materials - physical units

5.07 Other physical library materials units. Include all physical materials not reported on other lines in Part 5. Report uncataloged paperbacks that are tracked and treated as part of the permanent collection here. Do not count paperback exchanges. Other items could be puppets, toys, kits, fishing rods, GPS units, telescopes, etc. Do not include microforms, loose sheet music, maps, and pictures.

5.08 Other physical library materials units added. Number of other physical material units (see above for definition) added between July 1 and June 30.


5.09 Total physical items (auto-summed from 5.01, 5.03, 5.05, and 5.09).

5.10 Total physical items added (auto-summed from 5.02, 5.04, 5.06, and 5.10).

Part 5 - Library Collections - Section B: Electronic Collections

SECTION B – DIGITAL OR DOWNLOADABLE COLLECTION 

E-books are digital documents (including those digitized by the library), licensed or not, where searchable text is prevalent, and which can be seen in analogy to a printed book (monograph).  E-books are loaned to users on portable devices (e-book readers) or by transmitting the contents to the user’s personal computer or device for a limited time. Include e-books held locally and remote e-books for which permanent or temporary access rights have been acquired. Report only items the library has selected as part of the collection (exclude public domain / non-copyrighted e-books that have unlimited access.) Include non-serial government documents. Report the number of physical or online units, including duplicates, for all outlets. E-books packaged together as a unit (e.g., multiple titles on a single e-book reader) and checked out as a unit are counted as one unit.

Report the number of units. If the library is loaning an e-book reader preloaded with a standard set of e-books, count only the circulation of the device as 1 item. Do not count the included e-books.

For purposes of this survey, units are defined as “units of acquisition or purchase”. The “unit” is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users.

Finite simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of simultaneous usages acquired (equivalent to purchasing multiple copies of a single title). For example, if a library acquires a title with rights to a single user at a time, then that item is counted as 1 “unit”; if the library acquires rights to a single title for 10 simultaneous users, then that item is counted as 10 “units”.

Unlimited simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of titles acquired. For example, if a library acquires a collection of 100 books with unlimited simultaneous users, then that collection would be counted as 100 “units”.

5.11 Number of e-book units in Library2Go. If your library does not participate in Library2Go, please enter 0.

5.12 Number of e-book units added in Library2Go.If your library does not participate in Library2Go, please enter 0.

5.13 Number of e-book units owned locally or by consortia that are not part of Library2Go. List all other e-book units in your library’s collection (purchased/licensed through an OverDrive Advantage account, Bibliotheca, etc.), or held by a consortia other than ODLC/Library2Go.

5.14 Number of e-book units owned locally or by consortia added that are not part of Library2Go. See above.

5.15 Total number of e-book units (auto-summed from 5.11 and 5.13).

5.16 Total number of e-book units added (auto-summed from 5.12 and 5.14).


Audio materials are available as downloadable or streaming online files on which sounds (only) are stored (recorded) and that can be reproduced (played back) electronically. Report the number of units. Report only items the library has selected as part of the collection.

For purposes of this survey, units are defined as “units of acquisition or purchase”. The “unit” is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users. 

Finite simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of simultaneous usages acquired (equivalent to purchasing multiple copies of a single title). For example, if a library acquires a title with rights to a single user at a time, then that item is counted as 1 “unit”; if the library acquires rights to a single title for 10 simultaneous users, then that item is counted as 10 “units”.

Unlimited simultaneous use: units of acquisition or purchase is based on the number of titles acquired. For example, if a library acquires a collection of 100 books with unlimited simultaneous users, then that collection would be counted as 100 “units”.

5.17 Number of digital audiobook units in Library2Go. If your library does not participate in Library2Go, please enter 0.

5.18 Number of digital audiobook units added in Library2Go. If your library does not participate in Library2Go, please enter 0.

5.19 Number of digital audiobook units owned locally or by consortia that are not part of Library2Go. List all other digital audiobook units in your library’s collection (purchased/licensed through an OverDrive Advantage account, Bibliotheca, etc.), or held by a consortia other than ODLC/Library2Go.

5.20 Number of digital audiobook units owned locally or by consortia added that are not part of Library2Go. See above.

5.21 Total number of digital audiobook units (auto-summed from 5.17 and 5.19).

5.22 Total number of digital audiobook units added (auto-summed from 5.18 and 5.20).


Digital video materials are available as downloadable or streaming online files on which moving pictures are recorded, with or without sound. Electronic playback reproduces pictures, with or without sound, using a television receiver, computer monitor or video-enabled mobile device. Report the number of units. Report only items the library has selected as part of the collection.

For purposes of this survey, units are defined as “units of acquisition or purchase”. The “unit” is determined by considering whether the item is restricted to a finite number of simultaneous users or an unlimited number of simultaneous users.  

5.23 and 5.24 Oregon Digital Library Consortium (ODLC) does not currently purchase digital video materials for Library2Go, so Questions 5.25 and 5.26 are pre-filled with zeros. List all other units in the library’s collection in the following fields.

5.25 Number of digital video units owned locally or by consortia. List all digital video units in your library’s collection (purchased/licensed through Kanopy, etc.), or held by your district, cooperative, or consortia. If your library/system has added Kanopy's film collection through their Pay-Per-Use model this fiscal year, please add 30,000 to any other digital video units here.

5.26 Number of digital video units owned locally or by consortia added. See above. If your library/system has added Kanopy's film collection through their Pay-Per-Use model this fiscal year, please add 30,000 to any other digital video units here.

5.27 Total number of digital video units (auto-summed from 5.23 and 5.25).

5.28 Total number of digital video units added (auto-summed from 5.24 and 5.26).

5.29 Total number of digital units (auto-summed from 5.15, 5.21, and 5.27).

5.30 Total number of digital units added (auto-summed from 5.16, 5.22, and 5.28).


5.31 Total number of physical and digital units (auto-summed from 5.09 and 5.29). 

5.32 Total number of physical and digital units added (auto-summed from 5.10 and 5.30).


An electronic collection is a collection of electronically stored data or unit records (facts, bibliographic data, abstracts, texts, photographs, music, video, etc.) with a common user interface and software for the retrieval and use of the data. An electronic collection may be organized, curated, and electronically shared by the library or rights may be provided by a third party vendor. An electronic collection may be funded by the library, or provided through cooperative agreement with other libraries, or through the State Library. Do not include electronic collections that are provided by third parties and freely linked to on the web. Electronic Collections do not have a circulation period, and may be retained by the patron. Remote access to the collection may or may not require authentication. Unit records may or may not be included in the library’s catalog; the library may or may not select individual titles.

5.33 Number of Statewide electronic collections (Gale and Learning Express). The State Library will pre-fill this number for all libraries in 2020. The number of collections is determined by the State Library's Statewide Database vendor contracts.

5.34 Number of Statewide electronic collections added. The State Library will pre-fill this number for all libraries in 2020. The number of collections added is determined by the State Library's Statewide Database vendor contracts.

5.35 Local or Local Consortia electronic collections licensed through local cooperatives, consortia, or libraries within your region. Report the number of licensed electronic collections [previously called databases], for which temporary or permanent access rights have been acquired through payment by the local library, cooperative or consortium agreement. An example would be a genealogy database purchased by your library or funded by a regional consortium or cooperative for member libraries. An electronic collection is a collection of electronically stored data or unit records (facts, bibliographic data, abstracts, texts) with a common user interface and software for the retrieval and manipulation of the data. Do not include audio and e-book collections with circulation periods

5.36 Local or Local Consortia electronic collections added through licenses via local cooperatives, consortia, or libraries within your region. See above -- number of electronic collections added.


5.37 Total licensed electronic collections (auto-summed from 5.33 and 5.35).

5.38 Total licensed electronic collections added (auto-summed from 5.34 and 5.36).