Skip to main content

Public Library Statistical Report

Help for completing the annual Oregon Public Library Statistical Report.

Electronic Collections

Statewide Electronic Collections

6.01 Successful Retrievals from Statewide Electronic Collections (Gale & Learning Express databases). The State Library will pre-fill this data for some libraries in 2019. If 6.01 is not pre-filled and locked, please add the totals from these two reports (Excel files are linked below):

  • Gale Usage Summary (Excel spreadsheet), please use the column titled “Retrievals"
  • LearningExpress Library (Excel spreadsheet), please use the column titled “Total # of Resources”

Note: Libraries that provide access to Gale databases and LearningExpress Library through a central account for their library system should contact their library system administrator for assistance in getting the data for your specific library.

Note: If your library does not appear on the Gale Usage Summary, your library had zero usage.


6.02 Successful retrievals from locally or local consortium-purchased electronic collections. Report retrievals of all other electronic collections (that require user authentication but do not have a circulation period). Typically, this information can be obtained from the vendor. If complete data is not accessible, please report what you can access. Include retrievals and downloads from services such as Hoopla, Freegal, and Zinio here.

6.03 Total successful retrievals (auto-summed from 6.01 and 6.02).

Circulation of library materials

Circulation of library materials

Report adult, young adult, and children's materials circulation separately (if you can differentiate them). If your local system does not differentiate, mark n.c. on the lines for adult, young adult, and children's circulation, and report the total in Questions 6.10 and 6.11. If your library is unable to separate circulation of materials into young adult and children’s materials, report the total on Questions 6.08 and 6.09.

Do not include books loaned to other libraries on interlibrary loan, unless there is no way to separate them from regular circulation data in your library system. Interlibrary loan items borrowed and checked out for your patrons are counted under Questions 6.26 and 6.29.

If a shared library system is unable to credit an individual library with renewals, the system administration may contact the State Library about working out a distribution formula.

6.04 Number of first-time circulation of adult materials. Count the number of first-time circulation of adult materials. 

6.05 Number of renewals of adult materials. Count the renewals of adult materials. If the library is unable to separate the initial circulation from renewals, report total circulation of adult materials in Question 6.15 and enter n.c. on this line.


6.06 Number of first-time circulation of young adult (YA) materials. Count the first-time circulation of materials for young adult. For the purposes of this survey, Young Adult age is defined as 12 through 18 years and includes 18 year olds.

6.07 Number of renewals of young adult (YA) materials. Count renewals of materials for young adults. If the library is unable to separate the initial circulation from renewals, report total circulation of young adult materials in Question 6.15 and enter n.c. on this line.


6.08 Number of first-time circulation of children’s materials. Count the first-time circulation of materials for children. For the purposes of this survey, children’s age is defined as 11 years and under.

6.09 Number of renewals of children’s materials. Count renewals of materials for children. If the library is unable to separate the initial circulation from renewals, report total circulation of children’s materials in Question 6.16 and enter n.c. on this line.


6.10 First-time circulation not separated into adult, young adult, or children’s materials.

6.11 Number of renewals not separated into adult, young adult, or children’s materials.


6.12 Total first time circulation (auto-summed from 6.04, 6.06, 6.06, 6.08, and 6.10).

6.13 Total renewals (auto-summed from 6.05, 6.07, 6.09, and 6.11).

6.14 Total circulation of adult materials (auto-summed from 6.04 and 6.05).

6.15 Total circulation of young adult (YA) materials (auto-summed from 6.06 and 6.07).

6.16 Total circulation of children's materials (auto-summed from 6.08 and 6.09).

6.17 Total circulation of materials not separated into adult, YA, or children's materials (auto-summed from 6.10 and 6.11).

6.18 Total circulation of physical items (auto-summed from 6.14, 6.15, 6.16, and 6.17).


6.19 Number of circulations of Library2Go electronic materials.

  • https://marketplace.overdrive.com/Account/Login
  • Username: oregondigital.lib.statistics; pswd: Statistics!
  • Navigate to Insights / Checkouts. Click Run New Report.
  • Select library name from Branch; enter 07/01/2019 for start date & 06/30/2020 for end date; Click Update.
  • Report number listed under Checkouts.

6.20 Number of circulations of local electronic materials. Record any other non-Library2Go e-content circulation statistics here, if applicable. Include any circulation from additional e-content platforms purchased locally, or from additional shared consortium e-content collections (other than ODLC/Library2Go) Please report Kanopy usage stats here.

6.21 Total circulations of electronic materials (auto-summed from 6.19 and 6.20).


6.22 Total circulation (auto-summed from 6.18 and 6.21).

6.23 Electronic content use (auto-summed from 6.03 and 6.21).

6.24 Total collection use (auto-summed from 6.03 and 6.22).

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans

6.25 Interlibrary loans lent using a shared catalog or integrated library system. Provide an annual count of loans of library materials, or copies of the materials, provided by one autonomous library to another upon request. In this line, report loans to libraries that not are under the same library administration but share a catalog system. Include loan requests initiated directly by a patron using the shared catalog system. This definition does not encompass direct loans made to users of other libraries through reciprocal borrowing agreements (formerly 6.44).  

6.26 Interlibrary loans lent to all other libraries not in shared catalog or integrated library system. Provide an annual count of loans of library materials, or copies of the materials, provided by one autonomous library to another upon request. In this line, report loans to libraries that are not under the same library administration and do not share a catalog system.  Include loans to all libraries, regardless of location, that are not part of a shared catalog system with the reporting library.  This definition does not encompass direct loans made to users of other libraries through reciprocal borrowing agreements (formerly 6.45).

6.27 Total ILLs lent (auto-summed from 6.25 and 6.26) (formerly 6.46). 

6.28 Interlibrary loans borrowed using a shared catalog or integrated library system. Provide an annual count of library materials, or copies of the materials, borrowed by your library from another upon request. In this line, report borrowed materials from libraries that are not under the same library administration but dot share a catalog system. Include borrowing requests initiated directly by a patron using the shared catalog system. This definition does not encompass direct loans made to users of other libraries through reciprocal borrowing agreements (formerly 6.47).

6.29 Interlibrary loans borrowed from libraries not in shared catalog or automation integrated library system. Provide an annual count of library materials, or copies of the materials, borrowed by your library from another upon request. In this line, report borrowed materials from libraries that are not under the same library administration and do not share a catalog system. Include borrowed materials from all libraries, regardless of location, that are not part of a shared catalog system with the reporting library. This definition does not encompass direct loans made to users of other libraries through reciprocal borrowing agreements (formerly 6.48).

6.30 Total ILLs borrowed (auto-summed from 6.28 and 6.29) (formerly 6.49).


6.31 Number of circulations made without charge to non-residents. Report the number of items circulated directly to non-residents. Non-resident are persons who do not live within the boundaries of the library's governing body. These direct loans may be facilitated by means of reciprocal borrowing agreements with other libraries (such as the MIX or Passport programs), by means of a cooperative library system arrangement, or a county-wide federation of libraries, or because of free access policies at the library. Do include loans made to non-residents even when a reciprocal borrowing agreement or direct loan agreement returns a payment to your library for serving non-residents. 

Report the number of items circulated directly to non-residents. Non-resident are persons who do not live within the boundaries of the library's governing body. These direct loans may be facilitated by means of reciprocal borrowing agreements with other libraries (such as the MIX or Passport programs), by means of a cooperative library system arrangement, or a county-wide federation of libraries, or because of free access policies at the library. Do include loans made to non-residents even when a reciprocal borrowing agreement or direct loan agreement returns a payment to your library for serving non-residents. Do not include items loaned when a user fee or library card fee is paid directly to your library by a non-resident. Do not include items loaned to other libraries on interlibrary loan (formerly 7.15).