Skip to main content

Public Library Statistical Report

Help for completing the annual Oregon Public Library Statistical Report.

Part 10 - Administrative Information

PART 10 - Administrative Information and Library Policies

Most of these fields do not change from year to year, and are pre-filled and locked based on previous year's data. If you have any questions or need to change any locked fields, please contact Ross Fuqua.


10.01 Population served. Your library's legal service area. This number is updated by State Library staff, and is based on annual population estimates published by Portland State University's College of Urban and Public Affairs Center for Population Research. For some library districts and cooperatives with member libraries, additional calculations are used to provide the most accurate and equitable distribution of service populations.


10.02 FSCS ID. Each administrative entity (public library and/or public library system) receives a unique Federal-State Cooperative System (FSCS) identification number following establishment. Example: OR5555. For newly established public libraries, the State Library will assign you a temporary number (LIBID) and work with the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to establish a permanent FSCS ID.

10.03 Interlibrary relationship code. This code attempts to identify your library's relationship within a district or cooperative, as applicable.

HQ—Headquarters of a Federation or Cooperative. The library or entity that provides the physical space and staff who manage, coordinate, or administer the programs of the federation or cooperative.

ME—Member of a Federation or Cooperative. An autonomous library joined by formal or informal agreement(s) with a. other autonomous libraries in the same state to perform various services cooperatively, such as resource sharing, communications, etc., and b. Libraries that are part of national, multi-state or statewide library federations or cooperatives. (Do not include OCLC.) Do not include multiple-outlet administrative entities (e.g., libraries with branches and that have the word "system" in their legal name) if the entity does not have an agreement with another autonomous library.

NO—Not a Member of a Federation or Cooperative.

10.04 Legal basis code. The legal basis is the type of local government structure within which the entity functions. It reflects the state or local law, which authorizes the library.

CC—City/County. A multi-jurisdictional entity that is operated jointly by a county and a city. 

CI—Municipal Government (city, town or village). A municipal government is an organized local government authorized in a state’s constitution and statutes and established to provide general government for a specific concentration of population in a defined area.

CO—County/Parish. An organized local government authorized in a state’s constitution and statutes and established to provide general government. 

LD—Library District. A library district is a local entity other than a county, municipality, township, or school district that is authorized by state law to establish and operate a public library as defined by FSCS. It has sufficient administrative and fiscal autonomy to qualify as a separate government. Fiscal autonomy requires support from local taxation dedicated to library purposes (e.g., a library tax). 

MJ—Multi-jurisdictional. An entity operated jointly by two or more units of local government under an intergovernmental agreement which creates a jointly appointed board or similar means of joint governance; to be distinguished from a library which contracts to serve other jurisdictions and from special library districts. City/county combinations are listed under CC, rather than under Multi-jurisdictional.

NL—Native American Tribal Government. An organized local government authorized and established to provide general government to residents of a Native American reservation. 

NP—Non-profit Association or Agency. Non-profit Association or Agency. An entity privately controlled but meeting the statutory definition of a public library in a given state; includes association libraries and libraries with 501(c)3 designation. 

SD—School District. An organized local entity providing public elementary, secondary, and/or higher education which, under state law, has sufficient administrative and fiscal autonomy to qualify as a separate government. Excludes "dependent public school systems" of county, municipal, township, or state governments. 

OT—Other.  

10.05 Administrative structure code. This code identifies an autonomous library entity (administrative entity) that has its own governance and funding. An administrative entity is the agency that is legally established under local or state law to provide public library service to the population of a local jurisdiction. The administrative entity may have a single outlet, or it may have more than one outlet.

MA—Administrative Entity with Multiple Direct Service Outlets where Administrative Offices are separate. An administrative entity that serves the public directly with two or more service outlets, including some combination of one central library, branch(es), bookmobile(s), and/or books-by-mail only. The administrative offices are separate from the direct service outlets and do not provide direct library services.  

MO—Administrative Entity with Multiple Direct Service Outlets where Administrative Offices are Not Separate. An administrative entity that serves the public directly with two or more service outlets, including some combination of one central library, branch(es), bookmobile(s), and/or books-by-mail only. 

SO—Administrative Entity with a Single Direct Service Outlet. An administrative entity that serves the public directly with one central library, books-by-mail only, or one bookmobile.  

10.06 FSCS public library definition. By this federal definition, a public library is an entity that is established under state enabling laws or regulations to serve a community, district, or region, and that provides at least the following (an entity must meet all of the criteria below to meet the FSCS public library definition):

  1. An organized collection of printed or other library materials, or a combination thereof
  2. Paid staff
  3. An established schedule in which services of the staff are available to the public
  4. The facilities necessary to support such a collection, staff, and schedule
  5. Is supported in whole or in part with public funds

If the library meets all of the requirements of this definition, the answer is Yes. If the library does not meet one or more of the requirements, the answer is No.

10.07 Geographic code. The following codes are based on Census geography and are chosen based on the “closest fit” to geographic area for which the public library has been established to offer services and from which (or on behalf of which) the library derives revenue, plus any areas served under contract for which the library is the primary service provider. In Oregon, we realize these categories don't always capture the most accurate picture of local library service.

Note: The Population of Legal Service Area (10.01) should be reflected in the geographic code selected. For further clarification of municipal government, county/parish, and school district, refer to definitions under Legal Basis Code. For further clarification of metropolitan area, see Metropolitan Status Code “NC—Metropolitan Area, but Not Within Central City Limits”—Outlet Data Element Definitions).

CI1—Municipal Government (city, town or village) (exactly)

CI2—Municipal Government (city, town or village) (most nearly)

CO1—County/Parish (exactly)

CO2—County/Parish (most nearly)

MA1—Metropolitan Area (exactly)

MA2—Metropolitan Area (most nearly)

MC1—Multi-County (exactly)

MC2—Multi-County (most nearly)

SD1—School District (exactly)

SD2—School District (most nearly)

OTH—Other 

Library website and policies

10.08 Library's website. Please include a URL to your library's main website or page.

10.09 Library's statewide periodical resources (Gale) linkPlease include the URL from the library's website that links to the statewide databases provided by the State Library:

  • Gale/Cengage (for magazine/journal/news articles, reference eBooks, statistics, images, audio, and video content)

10.10 Library's statewide career & testing resources (LearningExpress Library) linkPlease include the URL from the library's website that links to the statewide online career skills and testing resources provided by the State Library:

  • EBSCO LearningExpress Library (for practice tests, skills-building for math, reading, and writing, computer skills tutorials, e-books and career development tools)

10.11 Library's collection management policy. Please include a URL to the webpage or to a publicly accessible online document with your library's collection management policy.

10.12 Library's circulation policy. Please include a URL to the webpage or to a publicly accessible online document with your library's circulation policy.

10.13 Library's patron confidentiality policy. Please include a URL to the webpage or to a publicly accessible online document with your library's patron confidentiality policy.

Contact Information & Time Burden

10.14 – 10.16 Primary contact for the Public Library Statistical Report at your library. Enter your name, email address, and phone number for the State Library to use if we have any follow-up questions.

10.17 Estimated time burden. Please report the estimated burden of time (in hours) spent at your library collecting and reporting this data. Please include all staff and/or volunteer time for individuals involved.