Join President Julius C. Jefferson, Jr for the October ALA Connect Live program focused on the COVID-19 Research Project conducted by OCLC, the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), and Battelle. The REALM Project (REopening Archives, Libraries and Museums) is conducting research on how long the COVID-19 virus survives on materials that are prevalent in libraries, archives, and museums and is currently in phase 5 of their testing. The project will draw upon the research to produce authoritative, science-based information on how—or if— materials can be handled to mitigate exposure to staff and visitors. Join us to hear from R. Crosby Kemper III, Director, IMLS and Sharon Streams Director, WebJunction from OCLC about this research.
Amid COVID-19, many archives, libraries and museums are reopening and expanding access to services in their communities. The challenges of reopening during a pandemic have led to many questions about the handling of materials as well as the management of building operations. From allowing the virus to die naturally, to using disinfectants, to applying UV light or heat treatment—there are many options to consider. Join this 60-minute webinar from the REopening Archives, Libraries and Museums (REALM) project to hear how some organizations are implementing policies and procedures around the use of these various treatments and considerations that could inform your own local decisions. You’ll also hear an update on REALM testing efforts and the development of project resources.
Loneliness and social isolation are rampant in America, according to many experts. The Center for Disease Control calls loneliness an epidemic and says it has a higher morbidity rate than obesity (about the same as smoking two packs of cigarettes a day). Studies have shown that loneliness cuts across all age, social, race, and economic demographics. We have many virtual friends, but few in reality. COVID-19 has exacerbated this problem. While many of the programs outlined are designed for in-person, there are ways public libraries can help combat loneliness even in a remote fashion. The Oceanside Library has created a program to combat social isolation/loneliness. The program, Connections, crosses all demographics and includes passive as well as active programming. The presentation will address: Identification of existing programs which have an anti-loneliness component in them; Creation of programs which have anti-loneliness as a key function; Adjusting programs to have an anti-loneliness component; Dealing with COVID-related issues.
This free on-demand webinar empowers all federal student loan borrowers with an overview of online tools and resources for managing personal student loans during the uncertain times of COVID-19. Learn about options made available under the CARES Act and strategies for lowering monthly federal student loan payments after COVID-19 stimulus assistance ends. Electronic tools for helping patrons enroll to lower payments and helping public service workers maintain eligibility for student loan forgiveness programs are discussed. The webinar concludes with personal stress-management and coping techniques to use when feeling triggered by debt.
Document your Story: COVID-19 Pandemic Project Archive brought together three community organizations to collect and preserve material created during COVID-19 from many different perspectives. This project has collected material from a variety of community members, such as local artists, diarists, the local business community, Muncie citizens, and Ball State University students, faculty and staff.
While this project started as a way to encourage people in Muncie and Delaware County, Ind., to tell their stories during this time, it has developed into a mechanism for continued collaboration within our community.
During the challenges of a pandemic, being prepared is of the utmost importance. This recorded edWebinar will provide you with the information required to face this year head on, and provide students, parents and faculty with the peace of mind that their safety is priority number one.
The COVID-19 pandemic has led to the largest disruption of education ever, according to a recent U.N. report. New research predicts that disadvantaged students will be a full year behind on academics, with advantaged students six months behind. Achievement gaps can translate to adult skill gaps and dire long-term economic impacts if nothing is done—especially for students from disadvantaged families and a high percentage of students of color. If virtual instruction continues unchanged, we could have a “lost COVID-19 generation.”
Join education author and Applied Research Center leader Michael D. Toth and Executive Director Meg Bowen in this interactive edWebinar to learn why traditional core instruction does not translate to effective virtual instruction. The more effective approach is acceleration through re-envisioned Tier 1 core instruction—virtual or in brick-and-mortar classrooms. Every educator should know the essential aspects of strong virtual core instruction and be able to flow from remote learning to physical classrooms—before an entire generation of students falls even farther behind.
Developing a Digital Inclusion Response to COVID-19 (Utah State Library)
As COVID-19 has exacerbated the digital divide for vulnerable communities, the need to jointly address access to internet, devices, digital literacy training, and other barriers to digital participation has become critical. Utah Communities Connect, the state's first digital inclusion alliance since 2018, is partnering with Utah State Library Division to host a workshop on Digital Inclusion Vision & Planning. This facilitated workshop is designed for leadership in state and local government, schools, nonprofit and community organizations, companies, libraries, and other organizations that provide or have the capability to provide internet, device, or digital literacy training solutions.
Lupie Leyva, Senior Librarian, Robert Louis Stevenson Branch Library
Madeline Peña Feliz, Senior Librarian, Digital Content Team, Emerging Technologies & Collections Division
Yago Cura, Bilingual Outreach Librarian, Engagement and Learning Division
Loida Garcia-Febo, International Library Consultant
Javier Areco, Host & Facilitator
Spanish: El objetivo es brindar tutoriales, anécdotas y mejores procedimientos operativos para bibliotecarios de America latina que desean utilizar aplicaciones y recursos que bibliotecarios en EEUU han usado para mitigar el caos de una pandemia y / o desastre natural.
English: The objective is to give tutorials, anecdotes and best operating procedures for utilizing librarians as disaster service workers or utilizing the apps that we have used to mitigate the chaos of a pandemic and/or natural disaster.
This webinar will examine how public libraries across the country are helping students, their parents, and teachers succeed in the new world of distance learning. We will look at popular educational websites and reading resources as well as examples of videos designed to help Spanish-language speakers access the library’s resources. We will also discuss how one library continues to provide class visits during stay-at-home and will learn about “pandemic pods.” We will even share how some libraries are helping families deal with food insecurity due to school closures.
As educators begin to welcome children back to school, COVID-19 has presented several challenges. One in particular is how to design, set up and implement classrooms that meet physical distancing standards while still encouraging classroom community. Limitations such as space and budget may also add to the conundrum. In this edWebinar, Sandra Duncan, Ed.D., and architect Lauren Magee will provide practical and helpful strategies for educators seeking ways to safely distance children in the COVID classroom.
This webinar includes background information on the coronavirus, the latest Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines, and research coming out of the cultural heritage field, while introducing viewers to recommendations for mitigating risks related to handling and care of collections materials. Viewers will consider how the evolving crisis affects continuity of operations within their institutions and will leave with resources to help keep their organizations moving forward through each phase of reopening. The presentation includes a 30-minute question and answer session with an NEDCC Preservation Specialist and a Conservator to address specific concerns from attendees.
The coronavirus pandemic has had a disproportionate impact on Native Americans and Tribal communities. Leading up to this current crisis, many state and federal policies undercut tribal sovereignty, leaving tribal healthcare systems underfunded and ill-equipped to respond to the spread of COVID-19 in their communities. In response, Tribes have exercised their inherent sovereignty to implement a range of infection control measures, with community-led initiatives providing creative and nimble solutions to the evolving crisis. This webinar introduces participants to key principles in Indian law and Tribal public health law, discusses the impact of COVID-19 in Indian Country, and identifies response strategies based upon practical experience.
Wondering how you can better advocate for your library? Looking for tools to gauge community priorities or create partnerships? In this budget climate, libraries need an actionable funding plan to advocate for the tools and resources they need to continue operating and enriching their community. EveryLibrary’s executive director, John Chrastka, is hosting this webinar to teach new advocacy techniques and skills that will help push your next budget campaign to success.
The COVID-19 pandemic continues to impact children and families as we all process the stress and collective grief of this global health crisis. As you prepare to resume classes and programs, we know that student mental health is an incredibly important concern. To give educators tangible ways to support the kids you serve, we're hosting an exclusive free, live webcast for First Book members with Dr. David Schonfeld of the National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement, and Founding Member of the Coalition of Grieving Students. Dr. Schonfeld is a developmental-behavioral pediatrician and Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the Keck School of Medicine of USC who has given more than 1,000 presentations on pediatric bereavement and crisis.
Learning Outcomes: OCLC, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and Battelle have partnered to produce science-based information on how long the COVID-19 virus survives on materials that are prevalent in libraries, archives, and museums. The webinar will describe the project activities, point to information resources, and discuss findings from the first phase of laboratory testing. Speakers: Kendra Morgan, REALM Program Manager, OCLC and Sharon Streams, REALM Project Director, OCLC.
Wondering how COVID-19 is affecting your mental health? Looking for strategies to reduce feelings of stress and loneliness during COVID-19? Join Brigham Young University psychology and neuroscience professor Julianne Holt-Lunstad as she shares her insight into how social distancing practices are affecting our minds, why relationships are important, and helpful habits we can implement to cope. Professor Holt-Lunstad has been researching the long-term health effects of social connection for over a decade, and she currently serves as a scientific advisor for the Australian Coalition to End Loneliness and the Foundation for Art & Healing.
As you prepare for a school year like no other and seek resources to effectively utilize technology, develop literacy, and build community relationships, look no further than your school librarian. Join Washington, D.C., public school librarians K.C. Boyd, Sherri Jones, and Christopher Stewart for this FREE webinar where they will highlight the extraordinary knowledge and tools librarians bring to our new schooling reality. From rolling out digital learning plans to distributing books and supplies, this webinar will open your eyes to the power of these often overlooked professionals during these unpredictable times.
The Federal Government produces and hosts large quantities of health information for users at all levels. Whether you need easy recipes for kids or COVID-19 studies, there is something for everyone. Learn which agencies have the information you need, including some sources that might surprise you.
Gearing up for the new school year after COVID-19 and remote schooling is just around the corner. Join Nikki D Robertson for just the boost you need to bring back that “new library smell” in the #newnormal.
Presented by Nikki D. Roberson, Project Coordinator of Digital Learning for the Educational Services Center at Region 13 in Austin, Texas. Nikki is a veteran educator, retired school librarian, Instructional Technology Facilitator, Google Certified Trainer, and past ISTE Librarians Network President. Nikki’s new book, Connected Librarians: Tap Social Media to Enhance Professional Development and Student Learning, is now available for purchase through the ISTE Store and/or Amazon.
In light of the COVID-19 outbreak, the U.S. Census Bureau adjusted 2020 Census operations in order to: protect the health and safety of the American public and Census Bureau employees; implement guidance from Federal, state, and local authorities regarding COVID-19; and ensure a complete and accurate count of all communities. In this webinar, we discuss Census preparation for a surge in media and messaging to partners during late July and August.
In this informative and instructive edWebinar, Michael DiSpezio returns to share his decades of educator experience as he offers a primer on the best strategies to teach upper elementary and middle school students about COVID-19. A former biologist, Michael shares his understanding and passion for life science, modeling best practices in teaching this critical subject to our students. Supported by a richly illustrated slide deck, his suggestions on what to say (and what not to say) are offered according to what school physiologists suggest for minimizing anxiety in young people. In this edWebinar, learn how to effectively employ a variety of educational strategies to best confer sophistication and appropriate content. So please watch Michael for this blended approach in science content and effective pedagogy, as you learn how best to communicate age-appropriate COVID-19 understanding to our K-8 students. Plus, he offers an update on the most recent progress in the development of both vaccines and therapies.
This recorded edWebinar will be of interest to kindergarten through middle school teachers, librarians, and school and district leaders.
Looking for reopening tools? Need guidance on implementing some new processes? This week’s webinar focuses on ensuring library staff have all the resources they need in order to safely serve their patrons and move their libraries into new phases of operation. Join SWAN Consortia Director Aaron Skog as he outlines how to create a reopening plan that works for your library — and then how to execute as efficiently and seamlessly as possible. Join us and come ready to explore implementation resources like: handling returned material, virtual services, extending due dates, processing your hold shelf, and PPE usage training.
Libraries have stretched and changed in many ways in recent years to provide new and relevant services to their communities. The COVID-19 pandemic only serves to accentuate and accelerate many of the broader changes taking place not only in libraries but also in society – changes that will impact library service delivery plans in many ways. This includes how patrons choose to interact with libraries, how they utilize library resources and services, and what services and resources appeal to their needs and interests going forward. This webcast will discuss the way forward, including challenges and opportunities, advice for administrators and managers leading staff through significant changes in daily operations, practical discussion of patron communication and service strategies in light of the new normal in which we find ourselves, and encouragement to embrace this unique cultural moment as an opportunity to make a surprising and substantial positive impact in our communities.
COVID-19 threw life into a tailspin for most Americans, and libraries were not spared. With very few guidelines, and fear prevalent, librarians were left on their own to not only deal with the responsibilities of limiting services to their communities, but also handle the inevitable stresses of reopening. Join TLC’s Director of Marketing Strategy, Jamison Reynolds, as he moderates a discussion with Gina Emory of East Bonner County Free Library (ID), Ty Henderson of Champaign County Library (OH), Lynn Hoffman of Somerset County Library (NJ), and Margaret Miles of New Hanover County Public Library (NC). The group will discuss the ways their libraries have succeeded in the time of COVID-19 and how libraries can continue to support their communities during these unusual times.
Has COVID-19 and remote schooling turned your world upside down? Shake off the dust and join Nikki D Robertson as she shares 5 Tips for School Librarians that stand the test of time, whether working remotely or face to face. Click this link to join the live meeting. Presented by Nikki D. Roberson, Project Coordinator of Digital Learning for the Educational Services Center at Region 13 in Austin, Texas. Nikki is a veteran educator, retired school librarian, Instructional Technology Facilitator, Google Certified Trainer, and past ISTE Librarians Network President. Nikki’s new book, Connected Librarians: Tap Social Media to Enhance Professional Development and Student Learning, is now available for purchase through the ISTE Store and/or Amazon.
The city is bankrupt. The town and surrounding farmlands are destroyed by a flood. The community turns down a property tax, which decimates public services. A tornado takes out Main Street and the library building with it. The biggest employer in town closes down. Libraries and allied institutions can weather economic and natural disasters. Sometimes the damage is permanent, but people adapt and rebuild. The COVID-19 virus is a different challenge. 1. It’s shared across the globe. 2. It’s about how we feel, think, and behave; change is internal, not just external. 3. The end date isn’t clear, and the stress can be as deadly as the disease. How can libraries survive and continue to support their communities and institutions? You might choose to create and implement a new strategic plan, one that engages the world with fresh assumptions, focuses on immediate goals and priorities, dramatically reduce services, and innovates in different directions, even if the latest plan is three months old.
In this webinar, four professional designers with expertise ranging from public policy, sustainability consulting, engineering, and architecture, will share both their approaches to sustainable building design as well as their preliminary thoughts about what libraries should do today and going forward in response to the pandemic. Panelists will discuss: What trade-offs are there between long-term goals and short-term needs? Is this a good time to make modifications to your buildings? Is the rapid increase in the use of electronic communication tools like Zoom here to stay? What implications does this have for libraries? How can libraries keep their patrons safe?
The way public and private sector operate has fundamentally shifted in response to recent events. Even as some government agencies are making steps toward reopening, leaders know it may be months before all employees are back in the office, if they ever fully return. Many of the flexible telework solutions that were rapidly implemented may become permanent options for government workforces. Governments must still meet their mission-critical objectives and digitally transform, despite the new working conditions. The question quickly becomes, how do your employees effectively work remotely and securely? Agencies are looking forward to learning from success stories from companies like HP on how they successfully mobilized over 45,000 employees and created a secure and connected employee experience.
Now, more than ever, businesses need the support of their local libraries. And now, more than ever, libraries need the support of their local businesses. Let's make this situation a win-win for our communities. Come join us for a crash course in business research with business librarians from the Seattle Public, Spokane Public and Sno-Isle Libraries systems. While business research can appear daunting, there are really just three main buckets that business questions fall into: What are the trends for my market? Who are my customers? Who is my competition? We'll connect those questions with answers found in resources commonly held by public libraries across the state.
Community foundations play a key role in the development of local communities. Learn from leaders at the San Francisco Foundation, the Denver Foundation, and Candid about how to access local donor-advised funds (DAFs), and hear them discuss their responses to the current coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis.
How to provide library service to seniors, the most vulnerable population affected during COVID-19, has been the question raised by outreach librarians across the United States. While we might not be able to visit our seniors or facilities in-person for the foreseeable future, libraries can reach this population while we shelter in place. During this webinar, please find tips and tricks that David J. Kelsey of the St. Charles (IL) Public Library District (SCPLD) and Glenna Godinsky of the Gail Borden (IL) Public Library District recommend in serving the senior demographic during COVID-19.
ALA International Relations Roundtable (IRRT) Webinar Committee will run a series of free webinars focusing on perspectives from libraries around the world dealing with COVID-19. Presenters will address the following questions: What risks are libraries expecting to be associated with the reopening? What is the library strategy to protect their users, the library staff, the building, and the materials? What are the safety measures that libraries are putting in place? What is the training the staff need? What communications channels are you using or plan to use to communicate the staff safety?
This free webinar is being presented by AASL, ACRL, PLA, and the ALA Chapter Relations and Public Programs offices with support from United for Libraries. A new survey from the American Library Association captures how public, academic, and school libraries are continuing to adjust services while preparing for the phased reopening of their facilities. Join survey administrators and librarians in this free webinar as they discuss results, with a focus on reopening practices and current and projected library budget and staffing impacts related to the crisis. A 13-minute video overview of the survey results can be viewed at https://vimeo.com/427459897. Viewing this ahead of time will provide additional information about the survey findings released last week.
With the economy staggering, unemployment soaring to unprecedented heights, and families reeling from weeks of confinement and uncertainty, people are turning to their libraries for help. Many of the issues people are struggling with involve civil legal information; questions related to unemployment, debt/money issues, foreclosures and evictions, or family stressors are all on the rise due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In this webinar, two law librarians highlight the most common civil legal issues they are seeing, provide guidance on key ways for public libraries to respond to civil legal needs, and discuss best practices for online reference services. Let’s work together to re-empower our struggling communities and demonstrate just how essential libraries are in times of crisis.
As the COVID-19 Pandemic develops and libraries create immediate, short-term, and long-term responses, Kendrick has been tracking these responses’ impact on already established low-morale experiences. Kendrick will summarize the markers and impacts of low-morale experiences, share the latest results of her survey, and answer attendees’ questions about the survey and/or low morale experiences. Countermeasures to workplace abuse and neglect will also be discussed.
Even before COVID-19, Wall Street analysts were speculating about when the next recession would begin. Warning signs included ballooning corporate debt and slowing GDP growth in China. And then came COVID-19. Now, economists are wondering how bad this recession will be and how long it will last. Mihir Mysore will share lessons about resilient companies from previous downturns and describe what he expects the most resilient companies to do in this downturn—which includes using digital tools and advanced analytics along with strengthening their balance sheets.