Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity & Inclusion Resources

Find resources and tools to help build inclusive working environments.

How to Be an Inclusive Leader

Diversity and inclusion expert Jennifer Brown provides a step-by-step guide for the personal and emotional journey we must undertake to create an inclusive workplace where everyone can thrive. Human potential is unleashed when we feel like we belong. That's why inclusive workplaces experience higher engagement, performance, and profits. But the reality is that many people still feel unable to bring their true selves to work. In a world where the talent pool is becoming increasingly diverse, it's more important than ever for leaders to truly understand how to support inclusion. Drawing on years of work with many leading organizations, Jennifer Brown shows what leaders at any level can do to spark real change. She guides readers through the Inclusive Leader Continuum, a set of four developmental stages: unaware, aware, active, and advocate. Brown describes the hallmarks of each stage, the behaviors and mind-sets that inform it, and what readers can do to keep progressing.

Cultural Intelligence

This extensively revised third edition has been updated with new stories showing cultural intelligence in action. Thomas and Inkson have broadened the focus beyond business to include organizations of all kinds--nonprofits, governments, educational institutions, and more. And they include a reliable and valid measure of cultural intelligence based on a decade of research by an international team of scholars.

The Diversity Code

The Diversity Code promotes understanding by answering many of the toughest questions that professionals and their employers are often afraid to ask. Each chapter begins with a challenging question, which the author answers based on years of experience as a diversity expert and attorney, and concludes with a real-world scenario and a chance for readers to test themselves on their knowledge.

Let's talk-- bullying, abusive conduct & their consequences

Let's talk-- bullying, abusive conduct & their consequences

Defines bullying and abusive conduct, their impact on people and organizations, and their remedies. Clarifies the legal definition of bullying, which many people of unsure of.

Approaches to Managing Organizational Diversity and Innovation

Due to the increasingly innovative global community, it is necessary adapt to these developments and aspire to those most important for their particular involvement. Approaches to Managing Organizational Diversity and Innovation presents a variety of practical tools, skills, and practices that demonstrate effective ways to positively impact the global community through effective management practice.

Safari Books Online

1980 - Current

Over 40,000 ebooks, audio books, videos, tutorials and conferences available. View online or download to mobile device. Broad based coverage of technical and business topics featuring top publishers. Coverage includes exclusive online access to OReilly Media materials.

MEET : breaking new ground respect & inclusion in the workplace

MEET : breaking new ground respect & inclusion in the workplace

M.E.E.T. Breaking New Ground demonstrates how to use the M.E.E.T. model as a practical tool for managing diversity dynamics while emphasizing inclusion and respect. The 4-step model is based on real experiences involving conflict resolution, difficult conversations, stressful situations and diversity dynamics. It can be useful in addressing unconscious bias, stereotyping, bullying and other unhelpful responses that create toxic environments and undermine productivity.

The Diversity Dashboard

'The Diversity Dashboard' is a quick reference guide that aims to help managers to bridge the cultural gaps in their organisations. Swallow and Milnes use the analogy of a pilot's cockpit to describe the various functions, instruments and levers that managers can employ to close the cultural gaps that prevent their organisations from succeeding fully.

Professional Development Collection

1930 - Current

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 750 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Many Cultures, One Team

Do you lead, are a member of, consult with, or support global teams? If yes, read this book to improve employee engagement, productivity, and human process interactions (HPIs) on your team. This book will challenge team leaders and team members to reflect on their cultural assumptions - to improve their cultural metacognition.

Let's talk-- harassment, it happens!

Let's talk-- harassment, it happens!

Discusses what harassment is, how harassment affects individuals and organizations, provides legal definitions and forms of harassment, and remedies.

The Loudest Duck

Written in an accessible style, The Loudest Duck is a business fable that offers an alternate view of a multicultural workplace through the use of practical stories and cultural anecdotes. For instance, the Chinese teach their children, "The loudest duck gets shot," a viewpoint that gets carried into adulthood, while many Americans are taught, "The squeaky wheel gets the grease." As a result, you find two distinct ways of doing business, neither one being necessarily the right or better way. By understanding others' viewpoint, you can understand how better to work with them.

The Human Equity Advantage

A fresh approach to the old problem of "diversity fatigue" Trevor Wilson, global diversity strategist and visionary leader, presents a fresh, new management model that goes beyond the traditional diversity debate towards inclusion and building human capital. Featuring case studies and practical diagnostic tools and assessments, this book will benefit anyone who is interested in improving their business by building on the unique talents of employees' innate strengths, unique abilities, personality, attitude, life experience and virtues.

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | LibraryHelp.SLO@state.or.us