Skip to main content

Public Library Statistical Report

Help for completing the annual Oregon Public Library Statistical Report.

COVID-19 closures, alternate programs, and other responses

CV01 - Closed Outlets Due to COVID-19. 

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Were any of the library’s outlets physically closed to the public for any period of time due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE:  An outlet is considered physically closed when the public cannot access any library buildings or bookmobiles, regardless of staff access. A building can be physically closed but still offer virtual or “curbside” services outside the building. 

CV02 - Public Services During COVID-19. 

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did library staff continue to provide services to the public during any portion of the period when the building was physically closed to the public due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Services to the public can include activities such as answering calls, emails, or texts with answers to information requests from the public; hosting virtual programming or recorded content; offering ‘curbside’ collection access; managing IT services to ensure external Wi-Fi access; and providing other types of online and electronic services, regardless of the location of library staff when they provided services (i.e., working from home or in the building that was closed to the public). 


CV03 - Electronic Materials Added Due to COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library add or increase access to electronic collection materials due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Types of electronic materials include e-books, audio and video downloadables, e-serials (including journals), government documents, databases (including locally mounted, full text or not), electronic files, reference tools, scores, maps, or pictures in electronic or digital format, including materials digitized by the library. These materials can include those the library did not pay for itself, such as those provided through the state library administrative agency, library consortium, or vendor at no cost. 

CV04 - Electronic Library Cards Issued Before COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library issue registered user cards electronically before the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Electronic library cards provide users access to electronic collection materials and databases without having to be physically present at a library outlet to register for the card. Refer to the definition of Registered User (Question 1.18).

CV05 - Electronic Library Cards Issued During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library issue registered user cards electronically during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Electronic library cards provide users access to electronic collection materials and databases without having to be physically present at a library outlet to register for the card. Refer to the definition of Registered User (Question 1.18).


CV06 - Reference Service During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library provide reference service via the Internet or telephone during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Refer to the definition of Reference Transactions (Question 7.01). Include references service provided via chat and text. 

CV07 - Curbside Service During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library provide ‘outside’ service for circulation of physical materials at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Includes any contactless or minimal contact provision of circulation items. Similar terms could include curbside, vestibule, or porch pickups or drop-offs, delivery, etc. 

CV08 - Live Virtual Programs During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library provide live, virtual programs via the Internet during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Live, virtual programs (see definition of Total Number of Library programs, Question 7.09) are conducted via a Web conferencing or Webinar platform such as Facebook, YouTube, or Zoom, during which a library staff member (or other party sponsored by the library) is presenting to or interacting with an audience in real-time.

CV09 - Recordings of Program Content During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library create and provide recordings of programs via the Internet during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Recorded content includes video or audio recordings created by a library staff person (or other party sponsored by the library) and posted to a video or audio hosting platform for the audience to view or listen to on-demand. Do not include promotional or marketing content.


CV10 - External WiFi Access Before COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library provide WiFi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets before the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with WiFi capabilities.

CV11 - External WiFi Access During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library intentionally provide or increase access to WiFi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with WiFi capabilities.

CV12 - External WiFi Access Increased During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the library increase access to Wi-Fi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with Wi-Fi capabilities. Increasing access could mean removing restrictions on sign-in authorizations, expanding router reach, leaving Wi-Fi service on 24 hours, installing or moving access points to promote or improve external access, etc.


CV13 - Staff Re-Assigned During COVID-19.

Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Were library staff re-assigned to assist other government agencies or nonprofit organizations during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

NOTE: Include formal reassignments to other government agencies (e.g., to process unemployment claims), as well as other activities such as the use of library staff to distribute school lunches and other materials. 


CV14 - Number of Weeks Library Was Closed Due to COVID-19.

This is the number of weeks during the year that due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, your library building was physically closed and the public could not enter, when it otherwise would have been open. For multi-outlet library systems, please report for the main or central branch here.

NOTE: Round to the nearest whole number. If building did not close to the public due to the pandemic, enter zero. Totaling questions B15 and B16 should equal or be fewer than 52 weeks.

An outlet is considered physically closed when the public cannot access any library buildings or bookmobiles, regardless of staff access. A building can be physically closed but still offer virtual or “curbside” services outside the building. 

CV15 - Number of Weeks an Outlet Had Limited Occupancy Due to COVID-19.

This is the number of weeks during the year that an outlet implemented limited public occupancy practices for in-person services at the library building in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.  For multi-outlet library systems, please report for the main or central branch here.

NOTE: Round to the nearest whole number. If building did not have a limited occupancy or similar practice due to the pandemic, enter zero.

Limited public occupancy practices can include limits on the number of public members inside the physical building, appointment only on-site library use, visitor time limits, closed stacks, etc. 


CV16 - Other information about COVID-19 pandemic? (optional)

Free text area to provide a narrative about your library's experience navigating the COVID-19 pandemic.