Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tech Skills and Software Trainings

State Library resources to help you improve with tech skills and specific software.

Photoshop Resources

Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers 2018

Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers by acclaimed digital imaging professional Martin Evening has been revamped to include detailed instruction for all of the updates to Photoshop CC on Adobe’s Creative Cloud, including significant new features, such as the painting tool and Pen path tool refinements and Range Masking in Camera Raw. This guide covers all the tools and techniques photographers and professional image editors need to know when using Photoshop, from workflow guidance to core skills to advanced techniques for professional results. Using clear, succinct instruction and real world examples, this guide is the essential reference for Photoshop users. The accompanying website has been updated with new sample images, tutorial videos, and bonus chapters.

Learn Adobe Photoshop CC for Visual Communication: Adobe Certified Associate Exam Preparation

As the most popular image-editing application on the market today, Adobe Photoshop is an indispensable part of any creative designer's toolkit. Mastering Photoshop for photo retouching or general design work should be the first step on your path to a career in the visual design field. This study guide uses more than 13 hours of video integrated with text to help you gain real-world skills that will get you started in your career in visual design using Adobe Photoshop CC. It lays the foundation for taking the Adobe Certified Associate (ACA) certification exam.

Adobe Photoshop CS5 One-on-One

Master the fundamentals of Photoshop CS5 with One-on-One, Deke McClelland's unique and effective learning system. This book includes step-by-step tutorials, hours of video demonstrations, and lots of hands-on projects to help you improve your knowledge and hone your skills. Once you read about a particular technique, watch the video to see how it's done -- then try it yourself.

Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers

This guide covers all the tools and techniques photographers and professional image editors need to know when using Photoshop CC, from workflow guidance to core skills to advanced techniques for professional results. Using clear, succinct instruction and real world examples, this guide is the essential reference for Photoshop users. Accompanying the book is the photoshopforphotographers.com website, fully updated with new sample images, tutorial videos, and bonus chapters.

Adobe Photoshop CC Classroom in a Book

Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Photoshop choose Adobe Photoshop CC Classroom in a Book (2019 release) from Adobe Press. The 15 project-based lessons show key step-by-step techniques for working in Photoshop, including how to correct, enhance, and distort digital images, create image composites, and prepare images for print and the web. In addition to learning the essential elements of the Photoshop interface, this revised edition for the 2019 release covers features like the new Frame tool, designing reflected and radial art with Paint Symmetry, correcting mistakes with updated Undo, Navigating the redesigned Home screen, removing objects with upgraded Content-Aware Fill, saving time with simplified editing and transformations, and much more!

Responsive Web Design with Adobe Photoshop

This new book is aimed at the visual Web designer who’s accustomed to working in Photoshop. Adobe Photoshop CC contains many new features that help streamline the process of converting a static page design to a set of components for a responsive web page. This new book balances coverage of conceptual issues (how to fit tools like Photoshop to the design workflow rather than fitting a workflow to the tools) with practical design exercises tailored to help communicate the overall design direction of the page while respecting the needs of the fluid web.

Adobe Photoshop Elements 2018

This edition covers many new and improved features in Adobe Photoshop Elements 2018, from the Auto Curate feature that makes it easier than ever to organize and find your photos by analyzing your library to present just the best images, to a revamped slide show, and new tools that will help you make complex selections in moments or improve a portrait by opening closed eyes. New exercises explore enhancements in the Organizer, an improved selection workflow, and several of the latest guided edits. You’ll discover new tools that let you expand your creativity. And you’ll learn how to print, export, and share your images.

The Enthusiast's Guide to Photoshop

The Enthusiast’s Guide to Photoshop: 64 Photographic Principles You Need to Know teaches you how to get the most out of Adobe Photoshop. Chapters are broken down into a series of numbered lessons, with each lesson providing what you need to get started on your journey to harnessing Photoshop's power in order to fully realize your photographic vision with your imagery. In this book, which is divided into 7 chapters that include 64 photographic lessons to help you conquer Photoshop, photographer and author Rafael "RC" Concepcion covers the most important tools, concepts, and techniques in Photoshop that you need to know.

Resources Organized by Content Level

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | LibraryHelp.SLO@state.or.us