Government Information and Library Services ("Government Services") uses a library account system to provide Oregon state employees with access to resources and services. Our current registration system is a legacy, custom-built system that has aged out. We're updating to an industry standard of interconnected systems that includes identity management, resource access, and resource sharing. These systems connect the catalog, database logins, and request/renew materials service.
Updating these three systems will:
Our current user registration system starts by searching for state employees' last names in the LDAP system to (1) confirm state employment status and (2) retrieve the state.or.us version of state employees' email addresses. After state employees complete the registration form, their account data is held in a SQL database. The SQL database both (a) authenticates accounts for resource access to databases and (b) updates a second SQL database, which provides resource sharing accounts for the request/renew materials service.
The new account activation system* will use the Workday API to collect initial contact information:
A script will distribute the user information into the appropriate fields in our integrated library system (ILS). The ILS will be our identity management system, authenticating accounts for resource access to databases. And the system we use for database logins will in turn inform the resource sharing system that we use for our request/renew materials service. Both the resource access and resource sharing systems will be upgraded to software-as-a-service versions that will include technical support and access to analytics.
*All library accounts will be opt-in, with a requirement to activate an account before accessing library resources and services.
This project supports the State Library’s 2020-2023 Strategic Plan as follows: