Skip to main content

Introduction to State Library Services for State Employees

State Employees have access to library online and physical resources, classes, and help from librarians. Learn about what the library can do for you using this guide.

How can I find...

Let's find this book

  1. Start on the library homepage at library.state.or.us
  2. In the middle of the page is a search box with the first tab reading, 'Search the Catalog', already selected
  3. Type the title or author in the search box and click 'Search'
  4. Browse the results page to view what works the library owns with that title or author
  5. To be sure you are viewing physical books only look on the left side of the page for the filter that reads 'Material Type'
  6. Click on the option under 'Material Type' that reads 'Online'
  7. Then at the top of the 'Material Type' box click on the button that reads 'Exclude'
  8. Click the button on the right that reads 'Request' to have us send that book to your office

Let's find this article

1. You have an article you want to read-- but can't or don't want to pay  $39.95 for the full text

2. Check to see what the name of the publishing journal is and the year it was published

3. In this case the citation is as follows: Frimpong, J.A., Guerrero, E.G., Kong, Y. and Kim, T., 2016. Abstinence at Successful Discharge in Publicly Funded Addiction Health Services. The journal of behavioral health services & research, 43(4), pp.661-675.

4. Head to the library main page at library.state.or.us

5. In the middle of the page find the search box that has the 'Search the Catalog' tab selected

6. Click the tab next to it that reads 'Find a Journal'

7.Enter the title of the journal, in this example The journal of behavioral health services & research and click the 'Search' button

8. Browse the results page to view what journals the library owns with that title or keyword

9. Once you have found the title click on it to view the full entry for that journal

10. Once on the page for the journal there are two sections-- Full Text Resources and Indexing (Non-full text) Resources

11. Be sure to check the right column of those sections to know the dates of that journal covered by each database

12. In this case there is a year embargo for this journal, however we are looking for an article from 2016 so any of the Full Text Resources would work. For this example click on MEDLINE Complete

13. Log in with your username and PIN

14. Once logged in you will be at the page for that journal

15. Look back at the citation: Frimpong, J.A., Guerrero, E.G., Kong, Y. and Kim, T., 2016. Abstinence at Successful Discharge in Publicly Funded Addiction Health Services. The journal of behavioral health services & research, 43(4), pp.661-675.

16. On the right side of the page is a list of years-- choose 2016 (Volume 43) and click on Issue 4

17. Browse the issue until you find the article

Let's find this journal

Journal of Educational Psychology

Journal of Educational Psychology

Description: The main purpose of the Journal of Educational Psychology® is to publish original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels. A secondary purpose of the Journal is the occasional publication of exceptionally important theoretical and review articles that are pertinent to educational psychology.

  1. Start on the library homepage at library.state.or.us
  2. In the middle of the page is a search box and select the second tab reading, 'Find a Journal'
  3. Type the title or keyword in the search box and click 'Search'
  4. Browse the results page to view what works the library owns with that title or author
  5. Once you have found the title click on it to view the full entry for that journal
  6. Once on the page for the journal there are two sections-- Full Text Resources and Indexing (Non-full text) Resources
  7. Be sure to check the right column of those sections to know the dates of that journal covered by each database
  8. Browse and click the link to the option you want based on whether it's full text or not and the dates available for that source

 

 

Let's find this DVD

  1. Start on the library homepage at library.state.or.us
  2. In the middle of the page is a search box with the first tab reading, 'Search the Catalog', already selected
  3. Type the title or author in the search box and click 'Search'
  4. Browse the results page to view what works the library owns with that title or author
  5. To be sure you are viewing DVDs only look on the left side of the page for the filter that reads 'Format'
  6. Click on the option under 'Format' that reads 'Video disc'
  7. Then at the top of the 'Format' box click on the button that reads 'Include'
  8. Click the button on the right that reads 'Request' to have us send that DVD to your office

Let's find this eBook

  1. Start on the library homepage at library.state.or.us
  2. In the middle of the page is a search box with the first tab reading, 'Search the Catalog', already selected
  3. Type the title or author in the search box and click 'Search'
  4. Browse the results page to view what works the library owns with that title or author
  5. To be sure you are viewing online books only look on the left side of the page for the filter that reads 'Material Type'
  6. Click on the option under 'Material Type' that reads 'Online'
  7. Then at the top of the 'Material Type' box click on the button that reads 'Include'

Let's find this map

Map of Wheeler County, Oregon

 

 

 

  Description: Metsker's maps in this atlas contain names of the property owners.

  1. Start on the library homepage at library.state.or.us
  2. In the middle of the page is a search box with the first tab reading, 'Search the Catalog', already selected
  3. Type the title or author in the search box and click 'Search'
  4. Browse the results page to view what works the library owns with that title or author
  5. To be sure you are viewing maps only look on the left side of the page for the filter that reads 'Format'
  6. Click on the option under 'Format' that reads 'Maps'
  7. Then at the top of the 'Format' box click on the button that reads 'Include'
  8. To find the Metsker's Map for Wheeler County you can browse all the results or
  9. Look over to the left side of the page for the filter that reads 'Author' and select the option that reads 'Metsker Maps'
  10. Then at the top of the 'Author' box click on the button that reads 'Include'
  11. Click the button on the right that reads 'Request' to have us send that map to your office
Loading ...

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us