Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About State Library of Oregon Digital Collections

State Library of Oregon Digital Collections

Scope

State Library of Oregon Digital Collections contains publications on all aspects of Oregon history and culture, with an emphasis on Oregon state government publications. 

  • A comprehensive collection of Oregon state government publications from territorial times to the present.  These publications are collected as part of the Oregon Documents Depository Program.  In addition to collecting digital publications as they are published, we are systematically digitizing print publications from the Library’s Oregon Documents Collections.  We give priority to publications with no or limited holdings in other libraries.
  • Local and tribal government publications, primarily digitized from the Library’s collections.
  • United States government publications with a focus on Oregon and the Pacific Northwest.  The collection includes both those published in digital format, and publications digitized from the Library’s Federal Documents Collection

Technical Information and Metadata

Platform: The State Library of Oregon Digital Collections is an implementation of Islandora with hosting and support from LYRASIS.

Metadata: The metadata is free to use. Most of the metadata originates as MARC21 (available in WorldCat), and all metadata is stored as MODS and Dublin Core in Islandora.

Vocabularies, identity management, rights statements, and classification scheme used include:

MARC records for State Government Publications are also freely available for download on the State Library website.

Harvesting: An OAI-PMH feed is available. Contact heather.pitts@state.or.us for more information.

Digitization: Access files for publications in Islandora are PDFs. For more details about specifications for in-house digitization, see the State Library of Oregon minimum digitization standards below. (Note, however, that many of the publications collected and preserved in State Library of Oregon Digital Collections are born-digital.)

Copyright

Access has been provided to digital items that are in the public domain, that are deemed to be protected under fair use, or that the State Library of Oregon has permission to make accessible.

These are examples of rights statements and situations in State Library of Oregon Digital Collections.

No Copyright - United States (http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/)

  • Federal government publications
  • Items whose copyright has expired

Copyright Not Evaluated (http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/CNE/1.0/)

  • State government publications
  • Other items for which the copyright status has not been evaluated

In Copyright (http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/)

  • The State Library of Oregon has permission from the rights holder to make items accessible

Educational Use Permitted (http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-EDU/1.0/)

  • The rights holder allows use for educational purposes without obtaining permission first

Non-Commercial Use Permitted (http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-NC/1.0/)

  • The rights holder allows use for non-commercial purposes without obtaining permission first

It is the responsibility of the user to determine the copyright status and seek permission from the rights holder where appropriate. Items in the public domain may be used freely and without restrictions.

 

Privacy

We affirm the right of individuals to have permanent public access to publications of Oregon state government.  Because of our commitment to preserving the integrity and authenticity of state government publications, we do not correct errors, inaccuracies, or potentially offensive language, or redact content unless there are legal concerns or significant risks to privacy.

Most publications in State Library of Oregon Digital Collections fall under the statutory definition of public documents (ORS 357.004 (3) (a)). 

We recognize that some publications may contain personally identifying information.  Before the advent of the internet, personally identifying information may have been included because it would not have been widely disseminated.  We will evaluate such information as we encounter it during digitization.

Please address any concerns about personally identifying information in State Library of Oregon Digital Collections to library.help@state.or.us

 

Takedown Notice

If you hold the rights to materials in our digitized collections that are unattributed, please let us know at library.help@state.or.us so that we may maintain accurate information about these materials.

If you are a rights holder and are concerned that you have found material on the State Library of Oregon Digital Collections site without your permission (or is not covered by a copyright exception under US copyright laws) and believe our inclusion of this material violates your rights, please contact us in writing and include the following:

  • Your contact information (including email address and phone),
  • Exact URL where you found the material,
  • Details that describe the material (title, collection name, number of items, etc.),
  • The reason why you believe that your rights have been violated, with any pertinent documentation,
  • A statement that you in good faith believe that use of the material in the manner complained of is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law, and
  • A statement that the information in your notification is accurate and that you are the rights holder or are authorized to act on behalf of the owner.
  • An electronic signature of the copyright owner.

Upon receipt of a request, State Library of Oregon staff will:

  • Acknowledge the request via email or other means of communication if you do not have an email account;
  • Assess the validity of the request;
  • Upon request, we may temporarily remove the material from public view while we assess the concern.

The Library may work with the State of Oregon Attorney General’s Office to make determinations about appropriate use. Depending on these determinations, the Library may restrict access to the work(s) in question or remove them from its systems. Removing the work(s) in question will result in the Library ceasing to provide long-term preservation resources to the digitized content.


Return to State Library of Oregon Digital Collections home.

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us