This concise guide to cataloging with RDA: Resource Description and Access specifically hones in on the needs of those seeking a simplified path to creating basic RDA records. First describing foundational RDA concepts and vocabulary, Brenndorfer then distills RDA instructions, matching them to cataloging practice in easy-to-follow language. Current with RDA instructions through the April 2015 update to RDA, this guide makes an excellent primer while also serving as a bridge to more complex cataloging. It's an ideal resource for: Small libraries that require standard cataloging but don't need all the details of structure and content of the full RDA LIS students who need an introduction to cataloging Paraprofessionals seeking a ready reference for copy cataloging Experienced catalogers needing a quick summary of RDA practice A handy offline access point for solo and part-time catalogers, Brennndorfer's guide also supports training and classroom use in any size institution.
Winner of the 2014 ABC-CLIO Greenwood Award for the Best Book in Library Literature Winner of the 2015 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Outstanding Publication Award In this clear and comprehensive resource, cataloging expert Robert Maxwell brings his trademark practical commentary to bear on the new, unified cataloging standard. Designed to interpret and explain RDA: Resource Description and Access, this handbook illustrates and applies the new cataloging rules in the MARC21 environment for every type of information format. From books to electronic materials to music and beyond, Maxwell Explains the conceptual grounding of RDA, including FRBR and FRAD Addresses the nuances of how cataloging will, and won't, change in the MARC21 environment Shows catalogers how to create and work with authority records of persons, families, corporate bodies, geographic entities, works, and expressions Explores recording relationships, working with records of manifestations and items, and more Provides numerous sample records to illustrate RDA principles A guided tour of the new standard from a respected authority, this essential handbook will help catalogers, LIS students, and cataloging instructors navigate RDA smoothly and find the information they need efficiently.
As the cataloging universe moves ever deeper into the era of RDA: Resource Description and Access, specialist catalogers need information on managing the materials in their areas of responsibility. In this manual, three expert catalogers offer a summary and overview of how to catalog cartographic resources using the new standard. Through abundant examples and sample records to illustrate the work, the authors Take a close look at what remains familiar from AACR2, and what is new and different in RDA Offer guidance for creating authorized geographic subject headings using Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Resources (FRBR) and Functional Requirements for Authority Data (FRAD) Present a detailed examination of geographic subject headings and subdivisions Designed for both practicing map catalogers and catalogers new to cartographic resources, this volume will be a one-stop resource for all catalogers of cartographic materials looking to understand the differences between cataloging using AACR2 and cataloging using RDA.
Gain the skills necessary to catalog monographic sheet maps and map sets! With an easily understood how-to format, this ready reference manual will introduce you to the basics of cataloging sheet maps on OCLC, using MARC 21 and ISBD standards and AACR2R. It will guide you through each area of the bibliographic record, focusing most specifically on the title and statement of responsibility, mathematical data, physical description, main entry, and notes areas. Approaching the subject from the perspective that maps are not that much more difficult to catalog than monographs, this book will familiarize you with the few fields unique to map cataloging as well as the fields that are common to monographs but simply used in a different way. This essential volume: describes the cataloging process as it relates to all parts of the record, including subject analysis, coding of fixed fields and OXX fields, and creating G-class call numbers provides an up-to-date list of map cataloging tools presents special chapters on cataloging historical sheet maps and special formats such as wall maps, map series or sets, and reproductions includes illustrations of bibliographic records, field-level examples, tables of information, and diagrams of maps to be used to highlight key concepts Ideal for the new or inexperienced maps cataloger, this volume will help you become comfortable and confident while working with sheet maps. It also puts you in touch with current reference sources and tools, both online and off.