Skip to main content

State Library of Oregon Tribal Cultural Inventory

 

The State Library is required by statute to provide permanent public access to publications of Oregon state government, regardless of format.  The Oregon Documents Depository Program, which began in 1907, collects Oregon state government publications, maintains permanent physical and digital collections, and distributes state publications to designated depository libraries around the state.  The Oregon Documents Collection includes publications from the Territorial period (1848-1859), statehood (1859) to the present. There are nearly 75,000 titles in the Oregon Document Collection.

Subject coverage of the Oregon Documents Collection corresponds to the activities of state government and state agencies. In addition to publications related to the state legislature and legislation, budgets, and various editions of the Oregon Revised Statutes and the Oregon Administrate Rules, topics of interest to tribal history and culture include natural resources, fish and wildlife management, land use, parks, transportation, education, and social services. Oregon documents include reports, brochures, periodicals and newsletters, maps and videos. 

Notable items from this collection include:

  • State Agency Biennial/Annual Reports – the reports have extensive budget and spending information and chronicle agency activities; they were originally compiled into “Messages and Documents” from 1868-1913
  • State Agency Affirmative Action Plans – in Digital Collections
  • State Agency Government-to-Government Reports – in Digital Collections

 

Federal Depository Library logo

The State Library primarily collects materials made available through the Federal Depository Library Program. In addition, the library collects publications produced by the regional offices of U.S. federal agencies based on the Pacific Northwest region, particularly those that emphasize Oregon-related topics. The Federal Documents Collection consists of print documents, microfiche, maps, videos and tangible electronic media. The State Library provides access to online federal documents through records in the Library’s catalog. The collection’s subject emphasis includes: social, economic, and population statistics; health and social services; public policy, law and government; environmental and natural resources in the Pacific Northwest; U.S. history.

Notable items from this collection include:

  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set – documentary record of U.S. government activity back to 1789, including legislative and executive agency publications
  • Congressional Record – historical record of U.S. Congress proceedings
  • Congressional committee hearings – published transcripts and proceedings of U.S. congressional committees as they review and consider legislative proposals
  • Publications from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and related agencies within the U.S. Department of Interior

 

Older volumes from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in State Library stacks

The Oregon History and Culture Collection has more than 70,000 titles about all facets of Oregon history and culture. This includes items on the history, arts, literature, culture, institutions, and industries of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest region. The collection contains books, journals, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, and audio-visual items. The collection has items from as early as 1789 to the present day and covers all phases of Oregon history:  from early exploration and Old “Oregon Country”, the Territorial period, and statehood to recent events in the 21st century.

Notable items from this collection include:

  • Oregon Index – 750,000+ card index of newspaper and magazine/journal articles and content in selected books compiled between 1913-1986 (online version)
  • Oregon Tribal publications – Includes reports, brochures, newspapers, etc. from Oregon’s nine tribes. See catalog search links page

 

 

The State Library of Oregon’s Special Collections contain materials that, because of their fragility, rarity or age, need special handling and storage, residing in an area of the library with special temperature and humidity controls. In addition to books and serials, Special Collections includes a collection of 10,000+ photographs, most before 1950; and a modest group of archival holdings. Items in Special Collections require 24-hour notice for physical access.

The majority of maps in State Library collections include historic maps, USGS topographical maps, and maps highlighting natural resources and geology. Currently there are more the 1500 maps stored in special map cases.

Notable items from Special Collections include:

  • Oregon Writers’ Project Work Files – compilation of historical documents and articles, oral histories and other research by the WPA sponsored project. See online finding aid
  • Chemawa Indian School Collection – includes yearbooks, newspapers, related publications, photographs

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us