Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspaper Resources from the State Library

Learn about all the news and newspaper resources available for state employees through the State Library

Digital Newspaper Access

 

To gain access to newspaper resources, you much first be registered with the State Library

Then, choose the newspaper database that best fits your search requirements. See descriptions of our top five below.

1. To view the available newspaper databases choose "Browse Databases" on the Government and Information Services homepage

2. Then under the "Format" pull down menu choose "Newspapers"

3. If you know the specific database you need, you can search for it directly in the "Find a specific database" search box on the far right.

 

The Databases

The State Library has access to thousands of local, regional, national, and international newspapers through a variety of databases. These are the top five newspaper databases:

America's News
Includes the electronic editions of more than 2,700 local and regional U.S. news sources in a single, fully searchable online database.

News
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Newspaper Source
Selected full text for 200 regional newspapers and 25 national and international newspapers, along with television and radio news transcripts.

Oregonian Historical Archive
Search the full text of The Oregonian from 1861 to 1987. Includes articles, photographs, illustrations, and advertisements.

US Newsstream
Over 1,100 U.S. news sources. Includes major dailies, such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | LibraryHelp.SLO@state.or.us