The Firefly Spanish-English Visual Dictionary is an unparalleled bilingual reference to the world around us. With thousands of detailed illustrations and well-researched terminology in both English and Spanish, its scope and depth are immense. Readers can learn about every part of a motorcycle, a trombone, a refrigerator, a fishing reel and thousands of other things. Showing what other dictionaries can only describe, the Firefly Spanish-English Visual Dictionary is the ultimate reference for students, language learners, travelers, business people, community workers and anyone interested in learning a new language and discovering more about the world.
Embodies Latin-American terms with local usages in South and Central America as well as the Castilian and regional dialects of Spain. Contains proper names, grammatical information and irregular plural forms.
Online Dictionaries & Vocabulary Resources
These are a selection of online dictionaries and vocabulary resources that focus on Spanish language learning for social services.
Is Spanish one language? Yes and no. A grapefruit in Guatemala is una toronja. In Argentina it is un pomelo. A waiter in Mexico is un mesero; in Uruguay, un mozo. In Spain eyeglasses are gafas; in Cuba, espejuelos. The list goes on and on. This dictionary tells you what all the others don't. It guides you through the many variations of Spanish and helps you identify and use everyday Spanish like a native.
This brilliant bilingual book is your one-stop shop for Spanish, packed with more than 10,000 essential words to look up and learn. With each Spanish entry illustrated by an eye-catching visual, language learning has never been easier. You'll be introduced to useful vocabulary arranged by theme across a broad range of subjects, from food and drink to sports and leisure and travel and transport. Throughout the book everyday items are included and labelled to boost your learning. If you can't find the right words, just use the comprehensive and clear indexes to set you straight in an instant.
In the interest of better serving the needs of Spanish-speaking families and professionals who work with them, Child Welfare Information Gateway developed this glossary to ensure consistency and cultural relevance in our publications. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Términos del Bienestar de Menores: Español a inglés
El Diccionario de Términos de Salud en Español e Inglés es un instrumen-to de trabajo que tiene como objetivo facilitar la comunicación y reducir las barreras culturales y lingüísticas entre prestadores de servicios de salud y la población de habla hispana en los Estados Unidos.
Esta publicación es un esfuerzo conjunto de la Iniciativa de Salud de las Américas, un programa de la Escuela de Salud Pública de la Universidad de California en Berkeley, y la Oficina de Salud Fronteriza Binacional, del Departamento de Salud Pública de California. Dictionary of Health Related Terms: English - Spanish
This English-Spanish Dictionary of Health Related Terms was developed as an instrument for health care personnel and other professionals working with the Latino population in the United States.
This publication is a joint effort of the Health Initiative of the Americas, a program of the School of Public Health at the University of California Berkeley, and the Office of Binational Border Health, of the California Department of Public Health. Diccionario de Términos de Salud: Español - Inglés
While this guide was created with a focus on services in Hennepin County and the Twin Cities metro area, the first part of the guide includes a language glossary organized by topic. From the Washburn Center for Children.
Con el fin de atender mejor a los profesionistas que trabajan con familias hispanohablantes en los Estados Unidos, Child Welfare Information Gateway elaboró esta lista de términos o "glosario" del bienestar de menores. (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) Child Welfare Terms: English to Spanish