InfoGuides: Pronunciator: Language Learning Online: Additional Language Materials

Additional Language Materials

These are additional language materials available for state employees from the State Library. We've organized the items by format (audio/visual, eBook, print book) and type (general, bilingual dictionaries).

Funding for these materials came from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) as part of the federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

(Note: If you're viewing this page on a mobile device, please turn it to a horizontal position to see the full gallery of items.)

Audio/Video Media

Includes: Spanish and American Sign Language

If you need assistance accessing technology equipment, please let us know when you request a media item. We have options to help!

eBooks in Languages Other than English

Note: While most of these eBooks are available for unlimited access, some are limited to three or fewer readers at a time.

eBook titles with (1) = limited to one reader at a time
eBook titles with (3) = limited to up to three readers at a time

Includes: Spanish and Lushootseed

eBook Bilingual Dictionaries

Note: While most of these eBooks are available for unlimited access, some are limited to three or fewer readers at a time.

eBook titles with (1) = limited to one reader at a time
eBook titles with (3) = limited to up to three readers at a time

Includes: Spanish, American Sign Language, Bosnian & Croatian, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Hawaiian, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Northern Paiute-Bannock, Persian, Russian, Tagalog, Thai, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese

Print Bilingual Dictionaries

Includes: Spanish, American Sign Language, Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese, Croatian, Dari, Farsi, French, German, Hawaiian, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Kurdish, Lushootseed, Nez Perce, Northern Paiute-Bannock, Pashto, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Tagalog, Thai, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese

Databases

Interested in other language materials? Some of these databases may be a good fit:

Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica includes full-text journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain covering many academic disciplines.
From the vendor: Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Informe Académico, Gale OneFile: This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico includes a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
From the vendor: Gale OneFile: Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina contains a unique collection of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
From the vendor: A unique collection of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.
Subjects include:
- Biomedicine
- Cancer research
- Cardiology
- Clinical pathology
- Clinical research
- Hematology
- Human reproduction
- Nephrology
- Neuroscience
- Pediatrics
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly contains eBooks, audiobooks, videos, webinars, and more. Update language preferences by going to Settings > Language Preferences. Options include: Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish
O'Reilly requires a separate, individual account in addition to a State Library account. All State Library resources are intended for state government work so you must use your work email address to create an account. See our instructions for more information on creating an account.

Databases with Translation Tools

Depending on your language learning needs, translating articles from English to other languages may be helpful. Our databases from EBSCO, Gale, and ProQuest include translation tools. We've listed some tips below for using them, along with posting a PDF that includes these tips with some screenshots.

Using Translation Tools in Library Databases

For EBSCO databases:

Select an article available in HTML Full Text (Articles in PDF Full Text will not work with the translation tool)
Open the article
Navigate down the page
Locate the translation tool above the article title
Select the drop-down field to choose a language
Select the Translate button to complete the translation
Note: If you select the HTML Full Text link from the left menu, the translation tool will be above the citation information box, which will be above the article title.

For Gale databases:

Select an article available in HTML Full Text (Most articles in Gale databases should be available in HTML full text)
Open the article
Locate the translation tool above the article text
Select the drop-down field to choose a language; a preview translation will appear
Select the Complete Translation button to complete the translation

For ProQuest newspaper database:

Select an article available in HTML Full Text (Most articles in ProQuest databases should be available in HTML full text)
Open the article
Locate the Translate link above the article text
Complete both drop-down fields for the original language and the language for translation
Select the Translate button to complete the translation