Dorling Kindersley (DK Books) recently revoked image rights from their online books offered through Gale eBooks. Without image content, State Library staff and members of the Statewide Database Licensing Advisory Committee (SDLAC) determined that the books were no longer useful and made the decision to remove them from Oregon’s Gale EBook Collection. After reviewing usage data and considering other feedback, the group selected several substitute titles offered by Gale to replace the DK Books material.
The Oregon Gale eBook title list has been updated with these changes, as have the files of MARC records available on the Oregon Gale Support site. If you have loaded MARC records for Gale eBook titles in your library catalog in the past, please remember to update your catalog to reflect these changes. If you need assistance, please see the support site or reach out to your catalog system administrator.
The access to LearningExpress Library has ended as of November 1, 2023. More details about this decision are available in this announcement.
The Oregon Career Information System (OCIS) will continue to provide access to LearningExpress Library resources to individuals that have registered portfolio accounts with that system. Access to OCIS is currently free though the 2023-24 school year, thanks to financial support from the Oregon Department of Education.
If more assistance is needed or you have further questions, please contact OCIS directly at: 1.800.495.1266 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Other free alternatives to some of the content provided by LearningExpress Library include:
In August 2023, 4 new eBook titles were added to the Statewide Database Licensing Program’s Gale eBooks collection. With the advice of members of the Statewide Database Licensing Advisory Committee, the following titles were added:
With new editions added, the following titles have been removed from the collection:
A complete list of titles with detailed information is available. You can view the list of titles added in 2023 by filtering this spreadsheet with the code oregonsc2023.
All participating libraries should be able to access these titles when logging in to your Gale eBooks collection, or through the Libraries of Oregon eBook collection webpage. Please contact Arlene Weible with any questions.
The State Library of Oregon has announced that we intend to cancel our statewide contract to LearningExpress Library. Libraries will no longer have access to this resource effective November 1, 2023, unless you choose to subscribe individually. More details about this decision are available in this announcement.
LearningExpress is one of two suites of resources available to Oregon libraries as part of the Statewide Database Licensing Program (SDLP). Once cancelled, LearningExpress will no longer be available through your library’s individual account, via the Libraries of Oregon portal, or on OSLIS. This decision does not affect our subscription to the Gale/Cengage suite.
Libraries that want to continue to provide access to LearningExpress Library should reach out to your EBSCO sales representative for more information. Contacts are:
Schools and Public Libraries
Regional Sales Manager