The Statewide Database Licensing Program provides Oregon residents access to library databases and resources through Oregon libraries.
The Oregon State Library is authorized to contract with commercial database providers on behalf of Oregon libraries under OAR 543-060-0020. In this rule, databases are defined as “electronically stored data, records or full text.” Historically, the program has licensed periodical indexes including full text articles, and a collection of full text reference e-books. Currently the program provides access to a suite of resources from Gale/Cengage and LearningExpress Library.
After confirming they meet SDLP requirements, qualifying libraries are provided with accounts and direct links to licensed resources by the State Library of Oregon. Oregon residents may also access SDLP resources through the Libraries of Oregon web site. School libraries are able to access SDLP resources through the Oregon School Library Information System (OSLIS).
Gale offers libraries a number of options for customizing database displays, search results and other functionality through its Gale Admin tool. A webinar on how to use this tool is available. To get a Gale Admin login, contact Gale.TechnicalSupport@cengage.com. Make sure to include your LocationID and specifically ask for a Gale Admin login.
LearningExpress Library provides instructions on how to create custom links to its various centers so libraries may highlight specific resources.
The Gale Usage Website, accessible through Gale Admin tool, allows libraries to directly access usage data. A webinar on how to use this website is available. Libraries need a Gale Admin login to access the site. To get a login, contact Gale.TechnicalSupport@cengage.com. Make sure to include your LocationID and specifically ask for a Gale Admin login.
Usage data is also available directly to libraries through the LearningExpress Usage Reports site. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org to establish a username and password to access the data. Make sure to mention that your account is under the Oregon state contract.
Gale training resources, including tutorials, webinars, and other documents are available. Other training resources specific to Oregon libraries can be found on the Oregon Statewide Databases Library Support web page. Tutorials and webinars for LearningExpress Library and Job and Career Accelerator are also available.
Customizable or pre-set materials for Gale resources can be ordered by visiting their Promo site. Use the login/password = gale690228/690228 to order materials. LearningExpress Library provides promotional kits including bookmark and flyer files as well as suggested text for social media promotions. Arlene Weible can also provide pre-printed bookmarks to libraries.
The State of Oregon Law Library offers two legal databases which are available to all libraries in Oregon. EBSCO's Legal Information Reference Service is database with large number of NOLO legal reference books and various legal forms. Fastcase is a legal research tool for searching sources of law from Oregon, the U.S. Government and many other western states.
The Oregon Digital Library Consortium is a group of public libraries that negotiate subscriptions to digital content including ebook, audio books and video collections. The Consortium currently manages a subscription to OverDrive’s Library2Go product.
The SDLAC advises the LSTA Advisory Council and State Library staff on the resources provided by the SDLP. It advises on the drafting of requests for proposal, the review of proposals, the recommendation to license database(s), and the allocation of costs to participating libraries when needed. Membership includes representatives from each type of library that participates in the program. The committee meets at least twice a year and more often during proposal/procurement processes.
The SDLAC identifies resources and receives suggestions from the library community for resources for the SDLP. It performs request for proposal development and database product evaluation as needed. It also provides ongoing database product assessment and collects customer feedback. Final resource recommendations are made to the LSTA Advisory Council, and if approved, are then finalized by the State Library Board.
The SDLAC welcomes suggestions for resources from the library community. Suggestions can be submitted via this form at any time. Suggestions are reviewed by State Library staff to determine if a statewide license is a viable option. The proposal and additional information is compiled and made available to SDLAC members prior to each semiannual committee meeting, where new resource proposals will be discussed.
After committee discussion, members may decide not to pursue proposal, to gather additional information, or to pursue the proposal and determine next steps for recommending the product be added to the SDLP program. Regardless of which action is taken, the person/organization submitting the resource proposal will be alerted to the SDLAC decision within two weeks after the SDLAC meeting.
There are a variety of criteria used to evaluate resources for the Statewide Database Licensing Program. The following list is not exhaustive, but the type of criteria used are:
According to ORS 279B.050, Oregon state agencies are required to use a competitive sealed proposal process for all contracts over $10,000. Typically, contracts licensing electronic resources for statewide use exceed this amount. For contracts over $150,000, the State Library must work with the Oregon Department of Administrative Services’ Procurement Services to manage the procurement process.
The State Library receives funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through Library and Technology Act (LSTA) Grants to State Program. Using the State Library’s LSTA Five-Year Plan, the LSTA Advisory Council makes recommendations on how to allocate this money in the Spring of each fiscal year to the State Library Board. The Board then approves the final budget. Money is typically allocated to ongoing programs such as the SDLP, Answerland, and OSLIS as well as a competitive grant program to fund individual library projects. Since 2009, the State Library has fully funded the cost of resources in the SDLP. Prior to 2009, the State Library funded a 50% subsidy for academic and public libraries and fully funded school and tribal libraries.