Skip to main content

State Library Email Lists

This InfoGuide is designed to assist mailing list administrators/owners and moderators manage their State Library hosted mailing lists.

Deleting Your Mailing List

Steps to Delete Your Mailing List

  1. Visit the "administration" page for your list.
  2. Generic URL is:
    http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/admin/LISTNAME
    Note: Replace LISTNAME with the name of your list.
  3. Log-in using your administrator password.
    Note: If you do not know your admin password, send us an email at helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov requesting a reset.
  4. Click the "Delete this mailing list" on the top right column
  5. Enter the list password and decide if the list archive can be also deleted. Note: List archives can be downloaded. List archives will be deleted when State Library hosting ceases.
  6. Click the "Delete this list" button and the list will be deleted.

If you have any questions please contact us DAS IT Help Desk: helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov, 503-378-2135
-or-
Jerry Curry 503-378-5008, jerry.w.curry@state.or.us.

Exporting Your Subscriber List

Steps to Export Your Subscriber List

  1. Visit the "general list information page" for your list.
  2. Generic URL is:
    http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/listinfo/LISTNAME
    Note: Replace LISTNAME with the name of your list.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page, to the "LISTNAME Subscribers" section. Enter the list administrator's email address and the list password, then click the "Visit Subscriber List" button.
    Note: If you do not know your admin password, send us an email at helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov requesting a reset.
  4. The resulting page will show you all of the members of the mailing list.
  5. If you need to actually copy the addresses, but they're shown with the word "at" instead of a normal @ sign, you can change that.
  • Go back to the Mailman administration pages
  • Click Privacy Options and scroll to the bottom of the page
  • Change "Show member addresses so they're not directly recognizable as email addresses?" to No.

You can copy & paste the resulting page into an Excel spreadsheet.

Note: You may see two columns, non-digested & digested. The latter just means these subscribers chose to receive messages in a digest or a batch, as opposed to individual messages.

If you have any questions please contact us at: helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov, 503-378-2135
-or-
Jerry Curry 503-378-5008, jerry.w.curry@state.or.us.

Obtaining List Archive

Obtaining Your List's Archive

  1. Visit the "administration" page for your list.
  2. Generic URL is:
    http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/admin/LISTNAME
    Note: Replace LISTNAME with the name of your list.
  3. Log-in using your administrator password.
    Note: If you do not know your admin password, send us an email at helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov requesting a reset.
  4. Click "Go To List Archives"
  5. You can download the archive via each edition in gzip compressed format. There are many available programs that can be used to unzip these files. Check with your local IT support.
  6. We *may* be able to send you a compressed text file of your archive. Please inquire.

If you have any questions please contact us at: helpdesk.dasit@oregon.gov, 503-378-2135
-or-
Jerry Curry 503-378-5008, jerry.w.curry@state.or.us.

A division of the State Library of Oregon | 250 Winter Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301 | Monday-Friday 8am-5pm | 503-378-8800 | library.help@state.or.us