InfoGuides: Vocational Rehabilitation Library Toolkit: Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Professional Development: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

State of Oregon’s Definition of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion

“Diversity is the appreciation and prioritization of different backgrounds, identities, and experiences collectively and as individuals. It emphasizes the need for representation of communities that are systemically underrepresented and under-resourced. These differences are strengths that maximize the state’s competitive advantage through innovation, effectiveness, and adaptability.”

“Equity acknowledges that not all people, or all communities, are starting from the same place due to historic and current systems of oppression. Equity is the effort to provide different levels of support based on an individual’s or group’s needs in order to achieve fairness in outcomes. Equity actionably empowers communities most impacted by systemic oppression and requires the redistribution of resources, power, and opportunity to those communities.”

“Inclusion is a state of belonging when persons of different backgrounds, experiences, and identities are valued, integrated, and welcomed equitably as decision makers, collaborators, and colleagues. Ultimately, inclusion is the environment that organizations create to allow these differences to thrive.”

Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Office of the Governor, State of Oregon. (2020, June). State of Oregon equity framework in COVID-19 response and recovery. Retrieved from https://www.oregon.gov/gov/policy/Documents/EquityFrameworkCovid19_2020.pdf

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

A selection of resources about diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Library Resources

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Collection
Books, videos, and other resources in the State Library's collection focused on equity, diversity, and inclusion topics.
Affirmative Action Plans (State Library of Oregon Digital Collections)
"... every state agency shall be required to present the affirmative action objectives and performance of that agency of the current biennium and those for the following biennium to the Governor of the State of Oregon and to the Legislative Assembly." -- ORS 659A.012(2)
DEI Resources (Playlist in O'Reilly)
A selection of DEI-related ebooks, videos, training, and more.

Websites

National Equity Atlas
"The National Equity Atlas is America's most detailed report card on racial and economic equity. We equip movement leaders and policymakers with actionable data and strategies to advance racial equity and shared prosperity. The Atlas is produced by PolicyLink and the USC Equity Research Institute (ERI)."

Agencies

Equitiy Initiatives – Office of Equity and Human Rights, City of Portland
Links to initiatives, tools, and other resources from the Office of Equity and Human Rights, City of Portland.
Office of Equity and Multicultural Services (OEMS) – Department of Human Services
"The Office of Equity and Multicultural Services (OEMS) advances the mission of the Oregon Department of Human Services (DHS) by leading and empowering the agency to integrate equity, diversity, and inclusion into everything we do."
Office of Equity and Inclusion (OEI) – Oregon Health Authority
"The Office of Equity and Inclusion works with diverse communities to eliminate health gaps and promote optimal health in Oregon. By connecting people and programs, we can make substantial, measurable progress in improving the health of all Oregonians."

Organizations

National Equity Project
"The National Equity Project is a leadership and systems change organization committed to increasing the capacity of people to achieve thriving, self-determining, educated, and just communities."
Race Forward
"Founded in 1981, Race Forward brings systemic analysis and an innovative approach to complex race issues to help people take effective action toward racial equity. Founded in 2002, CSI catalyzes community, government, and other institutions to dismantle structural racial inequity and create equitable outcomes for all. In 2017, Race Forward united with Center for Social Inclusion to become the new Race Forward."

Antiracism

A selection of resources about antiracism.

Library Resources

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Collection
Books, videos, and other resources in the State Library's collection focused on equity, diversity, and inclusion topics.

Websites

Being Antiracist (National Museum of African American History & Culture)
"To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives."
Includes definitions, links to resources, discussion topics, and more.
Center for Antiracist Research (Boston University)
"The mission of the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research is to convene researchers and practitioners from various disciplines to figure out novel and practical ways to understand, explain, and solve seemingly intractable problems of racial inequity and injustice. We foster exhaustive racial research, research-based policy innovation, data-driven educational and advocacy campaigns, and narrative-change initiatives. We are working toward building an antiracist society that ensures equity and justice for all."
Implicit Bias and Structural Racialization (National Equity Project)
A framework by Kathleen Osta and Hugh Vasquez.
"Increased interest in the topic of implicit bias provides an opportunity to open and deepen important conversations in our organizations and communities about equity, belonging, and ultimately justice."
What is Systemic Racism? [videos] (Race Forward)
"'What Is Systemic Racism?' is an 8-part video series that shows how racism shows up in our lives across institutions and society: Wealth Gap, Employment, Housing Discrimination, Government Surveillance, Incarceration, Drug Arrests, Immigration Arrests, Infant Mortality… yes, systemic racism is really a thing."

DEI, Antiracism, & Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling

A selection of resources about diversity, equity, and inclusion; antiracism; and vocational rehabilitation.

Journal Articles

Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation, Volume 45, Issue 2 (2016)
This issue of Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation focuses on vocational rehabilitation for persons from diverse racial and cultural backgrounds.

Reports

Beyond Training and the "Skills Gap": Research and Recommendations for Racially Equitable Communications in Workforce Development (Race Forward)
"As part of a three-year Race Forward project on racial equity in workforce development, Beyond Training and the 'Skills Gap' – Research and Recommendations for Racially Equitable Communications in Workforce Development provides a broad picture for the field’s leaders and professionals of how the workers they serve — particularly workers of color — are framed in the media coverage of jobs in two expanding, higher wage industries — technology and health care. The report also provides the workforce development field with practical tips for racially equitable communications to broaden the collective responsibility for employment and other economic outcomes in our communities."

Equity Lens

A selection of resources about equity lenses.

Frameworks, Guides, & Handbooks

Equity and Empowerment Lens (Multnomah County)
"The Equity and Empowerment Lens (with a racial justice focus) is a transformative quality improvement tool used to improve planning, decision-making, and resource allocation leading to more racially equitable policies and programs. At its core, it is a set of principles, reflective questions, and processes that focuses at the individual, institutional, and systemic levels."
Equity & Inclusion Lens Guide (The Nonprofit Association of Oregon)
"The NAO Equity & Inclusion Lens Guide is an interactive tool that will help you learn about equity and inclusion and how to apply it to your work. Change takes place in different ways and is ongoing. We are all learning. It is a lifelong process. When we consider our own diversity, check our assumptions, ask about inclusion, and apply our insights to our work, we can create change. The end result is that we become a change agent and take action."
Equity and Inclusion Tools (City for All Women Initiative)
Includes links to an Equity & Inclusion Lens Handbook and snapshot profiles focused on specific population groups.
State of Oregon Equity Framework in COVID-19 Response and Recovery (State of Oregon)
"The State of Oregon Equity Framework articulates the specific communities that must be included and considered, core elements to advance equity, and guiding questions for developing strategies and evaluating efforts."

Reports

Integrating Race: Applying a Racial Equity Lens to the Disability Field
Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, University of Washington. (2019, May). Integrating race: Applying a racial equity lens to the disability field. Wise. Retrieved from https://www.gowise.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/UW-Final-Report-2-2.pdf

Diversity Recruitment & Retention

A selection of resources focused on diversity recruitment and retention.

Toolkits & Frameworks | Strategic Plans & Action Plans | Reports | Data & Statistics | Articles

Toolkits & Frameworks

Creating a Culture of Belonging: A Guide for Retaining Staff | Colorado Equity Alliance
"This retention Guide is meant to inform state agency leadership, Human Resources team members, hiring managers, and other staff members of suggested steps to create an inclusive workplace and reduce turnover – specifically of employees with diverse backgrounds."
Diverse, Equitable and Inclusive Employee Lifecycle Best Practices | Washington State Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Council
"This document provides best practices for demonstrating and assisting in understanding cultural differences. To ensure respect for differences and coaching for positive change towards inclusive practices for all employees. Understanding that if there are embedded structural inequalities and bias in the employee lifecycle, not all employees regardless of age, color, national origin, citizenship status, physical or mental disability, race, religion, creed, gender, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and/or expression, genetic information, marital status, will thrive."
Diversity Recruitment Resource Guide | Tompkins County (New York)
"The following resources are a sample of proactive, low-cost, high-impact diversity recruitment resources, in and around Tompkins County. A collaborative outreach approach between Human Resources & Department Managers is recommended to achieve maximum results. Remember, Diversity Recruitment is not about numbers, but relationships. Nurture the internal and external collaborative relationships, and you are bound to see results in your applicant pools."
Ensuring a Diverse Workforce: A Guide for Inclusive Hiring Practices | Colorado Equity Alliance
"This Guide is organized by the processes involved in hiring employees. Each section includes specific steps or checklists that can be used to promote the hiring of an inclusive and diverse workforce. The appendices contain detailed information about creating a workforce that is inclusive, culturally competent, and reflects the communities it serves."
A Toolkit for Recruiting and Hiring a More Diverse Workforce | University Health Services, University of California, Berkeley
"This toolkit contains resources to help guide and support the recruitment and hiring of more diverse employees. Each section of the toolkit covers a step in the recruiting and hiring process and includes information and tips on how to improve current recruiting activities."

Strategic Plans & Action Plans

Diversity Action Plan | Metro
"Metro recognizes that the diversity of the region’s population will grow over time and that it is essential for Metro to increase the diversity and cultural competence of its workforce to remain relevant and accountable to the community it serves."
Multnomah County Workforce Equity Strategic Plan | Multnomah County
"Workforce equity demands that the County identify and address structural and policy barriers to equal employment opportunity faced by our employees and communities because of their race, ethnicity, national origin, disability, gender and gender identity, sexual orientation and other protected classes. County employees across the organization have stepped forward to develop a strategic plan and help create a workplace where everyone can reach their full potential."
Strategic Plan to Advance Racial Equity, Diversity and Inclusion | Metro
"Guided by input from many regional partners and informed by research, Metro has identified racial equity as the approach to ensure that all people who live, work and recreate in the Portland region have the opportunity to share in and help define a thriving, livable and prosperous place."

Reports

Affirmative Action Biennial Report: 2017-2019 | Governor’s Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion/Affirmative Action
"The 2017-19 Affirmative Action Summary Report includes data from state agency 2017- 2019 Affirmative Action Plans, the Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI), Department of Human Services (DHS), Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), Oregon Employment Department, US Census, and other pertinent references. These resources serve to provide the most accurate depiction of the state’s eligible workforce, hiring trends, claims of discrimination, and others areas directly affected by preventive diversity prescriptions in order to identify barriers and opportunities for improved customer service and provide recommendations and strategic solutions."
ODHS 2019-2021 Governor’s Budget Overview – Affirmative Action Report (pages 633-638)
"This report summarizes the progress the Oregon Department of Human Services (DHS) has made in accomplishing its affirmative action goals for the 2017 - 2019 biennium and identifies DHS’s goals for 2019 - 2021."
Partners in Diversity
"Partners in Diversity (PiD) operates as an affiliate of the Portland Business Alliance Charitable Institute, a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization, and seeks to address employers’ critical needs for achieving and empowering a workforce that reflects the rapidly changing demographics of the Pacific Northwest. We accomplish these goals through educational programs, job postings and distribution of information for CEOs and for those who work in human resources or in diversity roles."
- Workforce Diversity Project
  Provides findings and recommendations for employers in Oregon and southwest Washington for recruiting a diverse workforce.
- Workforce Diversity Retention Project
  Provides findings and recommendations for employers in Oregon and southwest Washington for retaining a diverse workforce.
- Results from the Partners in Diversity Retention Project (iLearn recorded webinar)
  A session presented at the 2020 Statewide Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Conference by Dr. Larry Martinez. Description: “In this presentation, Dr. Martinez will discuss the results of the Partners in Diversity Retention Project, outlining how the experiences of professionals of color in the Oregon and Southwest Washington region have contributed to their staying or leaving the region. Highlights include an understanding of subtle discrimination that most individuals are not aware of and key strategies for improving retention that organizations can engage in.”

Data & Statistics

American Experiences versus American Expectations | U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
"An updated look at private sector employment for Women, African Americans, Hispanics, Asian Americans and American Indians/Alaskan Natives in celebration of the EEOC's 50th Anniversary."
Equity Dashboard | Metro
"Track Metro’s progress in advancing racial equity in its recruitment, retention and promotion efforts by exploring data on race and gender."
Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in State and Local Government (EEO-4) | U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
"EEOC collects labor force data from state and local governments with 100 or more employees within 50 U.S. states and District of Columbia. The reporting agencies provide information on their employment totals, employees' job category and salary by sex and race/ethnic groups as of June 30 of the survey year. Since 1993 the EEO4 survey is conducted biennially in every odd-numbered year."

Articles

Diversity management: Development, practices, and perceptions among state and local government agencies
Wyatt-Nichol, H., & Badu Antwi-Boasiako, K. (2012). Diversity management: Development, practices, and perceptions among state and local government agencies. Public Personnel Management, 41(4), 749–772. https://doi.org/10.1177/009102601204100409
more...less...
Abstract: As diversity increases among citizens and employees, human resource practitioners in the public sector have come to view diversity management strategies as essential for the effective performance of organizations. An examination of best practices among private and public organizations reveals common components necessary for successful diversity initiatives. While there have been numerous studies on diversity management in the federal government, far less is known about diversity management at the state and local level. In light of the best practices research on the factors necessary for successful diversity management, this study examines the extent of diversity initiatives at various state and local government agencies. Measures used to develop diversity strategies, diversity management practices, professional development initiatives, organizational policies, and perceptions of effectiveness are considered. The findings demonstrate a few variations based on level of government, region, and size of agency. In addition, the majority of respondents believed that the organization's diversity strategy was effective at recruitment, retention, development, and promotion; however, there was uncertainty about the effectiveness of the diversity strategy on organizational performance.
Diversity management in action: Chief diversity officer adoption in America’s cities
Cooper, C. A., & Gerlach, J. D. (2019). Diversity management in action: Chief diversity officer adoption in America’s cities. State and Local Government Review, 51(2), 113-121. https://doi.org/10.1177/0160323X19879735
more...less...
Abstract: One of the primary ways cities signal the importance of diversity is to hire a chief diversity officer (CDO). Despite the importance of this position, we know remarkably little about the prevalence and predictors of CDO adoption in local governments. Using original data from the 250 largest cities in the United States, this article demonstrates that about one in four cities has hired a CDO. Further, the decision to hire a CDO is driven more by constituent demand than by city structure or resources. The article concludes by discussing the future of diversity management in America’s cities.
Diversity management practices and understanding their adoption: Examining local governments in North Carolina
Hur, Y., & Strickland, R. A. (2012). Diversity management practices and understanding their adoption: Examining local governments in North Carolina. Public Administration Quarterly, 36(3), 380–412.
more...less...
Abstract: This study examined how local governments have responded to diversity management issues such as recruiting, hiring and retaining diverse workforces, focusing on adopted diversity management practices. Specifically, we tried to identify what diversity management practices were more frequently adopted among local governments and what were driving forces for paying attention to diversity management issues by surveying local governments in North Carolina. According to our findings, more diversity management practices were adopted by local governments when populations became larger and more diverse in races. Some practices were more popular than others among local governments, depending on the level of attention to diversity management issues. We also found that when local government managers had concerns about diversity management issues regardless of their personal backgrounds, local government tended to adopt more diversity management practices. In sum, the findings in this study can be used as a benchmarking guideline by local governments and help them make more informed decisions when they face diversity management issues.
Local government diversity initiatives in Oregon: An exploratory study
Nishishiba, M. (2012). Local government diversity initiatives in Oregon: An exploratory study. State and Local Government Review, 44(1), 55-66. https://doi.org/10.1177/0160323X12439475
more...less...
Abstract: Recognition of cultural changes in the US workforce has prompted many public sector organizations to take action to increase diversity and cultural awareness. Specific characteristics of diversity initiatives in local government organizations are not well documented. In this study, interviews were conducted with representatives from eleven local governments in the Willamette Valley region in Oregon. Through thematic analysis of the interview transcripts and other documents, this study catalogues types of diversity activities conducted by local governments and identifies key factors in the development and successful implementation of diversity initiatives.
Managing diversity: Does it matter to municipal governments?
Hur, Y., Strickland, R. A., & Stefanovic, D. (2011). Managing diversity: Does it matter to municipal governments? International Journal of Public Sector Management, 24(5), 500–515. https://doi.org/10.1108/09513551011058501
more...less...
Abstract: Purpose – This paper seeks to investigate how seriously diversity issues are considered by municipal governments in North Carolina and to identify specific diversity management practices (DMPs) that are adopted more often by municipalities. It also aims to examine whether the adoption levels of DMPs are influenced by demographic and economic factors and the various backgrounds of city managers. Design/methodology/approach – Data about adopted DMPs and city managers' backgrounds were collected by surveying all municipalities in North Carolina with populations of at least 5,000 (response rate: 50 percent). An index was constructed to determine the adoption level of DMPs, and the cities were divided into four groups, based on their index scores (i.e. DMP scores). Analysis of variance and correlations were used to test the relationship between a number of factors and the index score. Findings – A number of DMPs were identified as being more popular among municipalities that took diversity and its related issues more seriously, and other DMPs as being less popular among cities that did not pay particular attention to diversity. It was also found that the adoption level of DMPs was significantly affected by population size, the heterogeneity of population, urbanization level, and city manager's age. Practical implications – The DMPs that were found suitable for each one of the four groups of cities can be used as a guide when cities in a particular group want to adopt more DMPs to support and encourage diversity at work. According to the findings, cities need to be more proactive in managing diversity by introducing appropriate DMPs when their demographics are changing substantially. Originality/value – This is one of the first studies to identify the more popular DMPs among municipalities with different attention levels toward diversity and its related issues. The study also contributes to the construction of a comprehensive diversity management model that explains how cities respond to changing demographics.
Multiple marginality: How the disproportionate assignment of women and minorities to manage diversity programs reinforces and multiplies their marginality
Harris, G. L. A. (2013). Multiple marginality: How the disproportionate assignment of women and minorities to manage diversity programs reinforces and multiplies their marginality. Administration & Society, 45(7), 775-808. https://doi.org/10.1177/0095399712445872
more...less...
Abstract: Achieving diversity in the workplace has become the antidote for what ails many organizations. Specifically for public organizations, although many genuinely pursue diversity to achieve public good, some use diversity for more questionable means. An exploratory study on local governments revealed that women and minorities, relative to White men, are disproportionately assigned to manage diversity programs. Using the research on groups, a theory of multiple marginality was developed to explicate the rationale(s) for these programs’ overrepresentation of women and minorities that further marginalizes these already marginalized groups. The adverse effects, the policy implications, and future research are discussed.
The prospects for managing diversity in the public sector: The case of the Ontario Public Service
Ohemeng, F. L. K., McGrandle, J. (2015). The prospects for managing diversity in the public sector: The case of the Ontario Public Service. Public Organization Review, 15, 487–507. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11115-014-0285-8
more...less...
Abstract: Diversity management (DM) has become one of the critical aspects of public sector reforms in recent times because of population dynamics and demographic shifts in society. The idea is that DM can help public organizations achieve their objectives effectively, especially service delivery. In 2008, the Ontario government made DM a core part of its public sector modernization agenda, and launched its first comprehensive diversity strategy that viewed diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion as fundamental to a modern, progressive civil service. This paper aims at understanding the challenges in the implementation of diversity and inclusiveness in the Ontario public service.
Racial diversity and task performance: The roles of formalization and goal setting in government organizations
Jong, J. (2019). Racial diversity and task performance: The roles of formalization and goal setting in government organizations. Public Personnel Management, 48(4), 493–512. https://doi.org/10.1177/0091026019826157
more...less...
Abstract: Previous studies on demographic diversity have yielded inconsistent results with respect to several individual and organizational outcomes. The current study proposes that structural characteristics can enhance the positive influence of racial diversity on employee outcomes. Specifically, this study examines the roles of formalization as a moderator and goal setting as a mediator in the relationship between racial diversity and employee task performance. Using a sample of New York state employees from 42 state agencies, this study found that (a) in organizations where tasks are formalized, the effects of racial diversity on employee perception of goal specificity and goal difficulty were positive and (b) some of the interaction effects between racial diversity and formalization were, in turn, positively related to task performance through perception of the goal difficulty. Overall, while the results confirm the complex nature of diversity effects mentioned in previous research, they contribute further evidence regarding the positive impact of racial diversity and the notion that the contextual environment of public organizations—in this case, formalization—contributes to positive performance in demographically diverse workforces.
Retaining a diverse workforce: The impact of gender-focused human resource management
Ali, M., Metz, I., & Kulik, C. T. (2015). Retaining a diverse workforce: The impact of gender-focused human resource management. Human Resource Management Journal, 25(4), 580–599. https://doi.org/10.1111/1748-8583.12079
more...less...
Abstract: Demography theory suggests that high gender diversity leads to high turnover. As turnover is costly, we tested the following: a main effect prediction derived from demography theory, and a moderating effect prediction derived from the relational framework. Data on 198 publicly listed organisations were collected through a human resources decision-maker survey and archival databases. The results indicate that higher gender diversity leads to lower turnover in organisations with many gender-focused policies and practices. Findings suggest that organisations can lower their turnover rates by increasing their gender diversity and by implementing gender-focused policies and practices.

Recommended Books

The books listed below are focused on topics of diversity, equity, inclusion, anti-racism, and social justice.

*See access notes for books that are suitable for reading groups. Some may be limited to one user (eBooks) or only available in one copy (print).

Video Resources

A selection of video resources about diversity, equity, inclusion, anti-racism, anti-oppression, and more.

Freely Available Online | Library Resources

Tips for Using TED Talks Videos

Freely Available Online

TED Talks

A selection of playlists about DEI-related topics.
Search for more specific terms, such as anti-racism or anti-oppression, to find more specific videos.

Aging (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Aging. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Autism Spectrum Disorder (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Autism Spectrum Disorder. Includes individual TED Talks videos.
Culture (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Culture. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Disability (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Disability. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Diversity (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Diversity. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Gender (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Gender. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Gender Equality (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Gender Equality. Includes individual TED Talks videos and articles.
Gender Spectrum (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Gender Spectrum. Includes video playlists and individual TED Talks videos.
Inclusion (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Inclusion. Includes individual TED Talks videos.
Indigenous Peoples (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Indigenous Peoples. Includes individual TED Talks videos.
Inequality (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Inequality. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Justice System (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Justice system. Includes video playlists and individual TED Talks videos.
LGBT (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of LGBT. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
PTSD
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of PTSD. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Race (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Race. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Social Change (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Social Change. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Transgender (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Transgender. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Women (TED Talks)
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Women. Includes video playlists, individual TED Talks videos, and articles.
Topics A-Z
Alphabetical list of all TED Talks topics.

Vimeo

A selection of video creators that include videos about DEI-related topics.
Search for more specific terms, such as anti-racism or anti-oppression, to find more specific videos.

MOSAIC Nation
Description: "Creating a documentary series and curriculum about social justice and how people are affected by changing demographics and emerging trends."
Oregon Metro
Description: "As the elected regional government for the Portland metropolitan area, Metro works with communities, businesses and residents to create a vibrant and sustainable region for all."
Videos include DEI-related topics.
Regional Diversity Roundtable
A selection of videos from the Regional Diversity Roundtable, Peel Region, Ontario, Canada.

YouTube

A selection of videos about DEI-related topics.
Search for more specific terms, such as anti-racism or anti-oppression, to find more specific videos.

Conversation Project (Oregon Humanities)
Description: "Each year, the Conversation Project brings thousands of Oregonians together to talk, listen, and learn from one another."
Note: The is a playlist of 40 individual videos, most of which are under 2 minutes. Scroll through the list of videos to focus on a particular topic or individual.
OSCF Speaker Series Presents: Miguel Herrada "Recognizing the Diversity Among Us" (Oregon State Capitol) [22:32min]
Description: "Mr. Miguel Herrada is an ethnomusicologist passionate about social structures and its representations in art, music, religions, and cultures. He serves as the health equity and diversity strategist for Pacificsource and is also a multi-instrumentalist who specializes in flamenco and Middle Eastern music. His professional interests are to help underrepresented and underserved populations get access to health services in a more appropriate and cultural way. He serves on different advisory committees and recently received an award granted by the Oregon Primary Care Association for supporting health equity causes in Central Oregon. He looks forward to connecting with other Oregonians to explore together the many facets of diversity and how to use it to create more inclusive communities."

Library Resources

State Library of Oregon

A selection of digital videos about DEI-related topics.
Search for more videos in DVD format from the State Library's catalog. We can send DVDs to state employees at their agency locations.

Business Oregon chats with Oregon farmer Bryan Harper (Digital Collections) [5:53min]
Description: "During Black History Month, Business Oregon diversity, equity, and inclusion manager Bryant Campbell sits down with several black business owners to learn about their experiences and talk about what the state of Oregon can do to support black business leaders. In this video, Bryan Harper of Harper Farms is interviewed."
From State Library of Oregon Digital Collections
Business Oregon chats with Naim Hassan (Digital Collections) [5:34min]
Description: "During Black History Month, Business Oregon diversity, equity, and inclusion manager Bryant Campbell sits down with several black business owners to learn about their experiences and talk about what the state of Oregon can do to support black business leaders. In this video, Naim Hassan of Naim Hassan Photography is interviewed."
From State Library of Oregon Digital Collections
Blind spots, risks, and will: Tools for navigating difference (O'Reilly) [45:23min]
Description: "Blindspots, risk, and will: Tools for navigating difference will help you examine the role that culture plays in our listening, interactions with colleagues, and design of operations. Participants will be a part of an interactive session that will help give a basic framework to think through difficult cross-cultural conversations, help them examine their own life experiences in a nuanced way, and think through next steps for taking diversity from theory into application."
Note: Requires a library account with the State Library of Oregon AND an O'Reilly account. Questions about getting those accounts? Ask the Reference Team.

Public Libraries in Oregon

A selection of resources for finding local public libraries, with additional information for locating digital and streaming video resources.

OREGON PUBLIC LIBRARIES

Directories and maps to locate an Oregon public library near you.

Oregon Library Directory
A searchable tool that includes contact information about Oregon academic, public, tribal, and volunteer libraries.
Oregon Library Directory Map
This data contains basic contact and location information on public, academic, special, tribal, and volunteer libraries in Oregon from the Oregon Library Directory, maintained by the State Library of Oregon. This data is updated quarterly.
Oregon Public Library Service Areas
This map aims to illustrate current public library service areas in Oregon by local jurisdictions. (Please note that jurisdictions overlap in some areas, where public library service is provided through a combination of municipal and district support.)

COMMON LIBRARY VIDEO DATABASES

A selection of video databases that may be available from your local public library.
Please note, different libraries have different budgets and purchasing capabilities, so not all libraries will have the same options.

hoopla
hoopla is a digital media service offered by libraries that allows users to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to view on computers, tablets, phones, or TVs.
- hoopla Participating Libraries
  Search for a library name or location. Areas shaded in violet represent the coverage area for a particular library.
- Help and FAQs
  hoopla's help and FAQ section. Click on the tags to go to a specific section (such as "Participating Libraries."
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service offered by libraries that includes movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos, which can be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
- Find Your Public Library
  Search Kanopy's public library directory.
- Find Your University
  Search Kanopy's academic library directory (for college or university students).
- Kanopy Support
  Kanopy's support and FAQ section.
Access Video on Demand (Infobase)
The Access Video on Demand streaming video databases from Infobase are curated for public libraries.
This link goes to a product page about the databases. Infobase doesn't provide a library directory for libraries that subscribe to their databases.
Alexander Street (ProQuest)
Alexander Street provides a few different streaming video database to public libraries, such as Public Library Video Online.
This link goes to a product page about the databases. Alexander Street doesn't provide a library directory for libraries that subscribe to their databases.