InfoGuides: Vocational Rehabilitation Library Toolkit: General Resources

Professional Development: General Resources

A selection of general resources to support professional development for vocational rehabilitation staff.

Note: If a link has a icon, it will only be available to State of Oregon employees who have library accounts with the State Library of Oregon. (The link will go to a login page for individuals to enter their library username and password before going to the item in the library database.)

Reading/Book Club Suggestions

The books listed below are all available in eBook format for unlimited users, which makes them good options for reading groups.

Recommended Databases

The databases listed below are recommended "best bets" for most vocational rehabilitation topics.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
(1970 - Current) A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
From the vendor: Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
This database includes content from the following subject-specific databases:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
(1887 - Current) A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
From the vendor: A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
(1840 - Current) Largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for over 2,500 medical journals. Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
From the vendor: MEDLINE Complete is a leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals. It offers access to 1,553 active full-text medical journals plus comprehensive cover-to-cover indexing. MEDLINE Complete includes Ahead of Print content for relevant titles from key publishers. MEDLINE Complete Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
MEDLINE Complete is a full-text supplement to the MEDLINE citation-only database.
Psychology, Gale OneFile: This link opens in a new window
(1965 - Current) This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
From the vendor: Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
(1931 - Current) Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Subjects include:
- Anthropology
- Emotional and behavioral characteristics
- Mental processes
- Observational and experimental methods
- Psychiatry and psychology
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a full-text supplement to APA PsycInfo.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
(1858 - Current) Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature including journals, proceedings, and quality web sources. Search over 15000 journals and 27 million references from more than 4000 publishers.
Learn more about using Scopus with a guide from the vendor.

Streaming Video Options

Here are options for freely accessible streaming videos. Please see the notes below for any restrictions related to public performance rights.

Freely Available Online | Library Resources

Freely Available Online

TED
Tips for Using TED Talks Videos
- How do I download talks to watch offline?
- TED Talks Usage Policy
Description: "TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world."
- TED Talks
  Description: "TED Talks is our flagship video series of great talks and performances, filmed at TED conferences, independent TEDx events and on other stages worldwide."
- TEDx
  Description: "The TEDx program lets individuals, organizations and communities worldwide hold local, independent TED-like events. To date, more than 13,000 TEDx events have been held in 150 countries."
- TED-Ed
  Description: "TED-Ed offers original, animated video lessons — to watch online or use in the classroom. Educators can use the TED-Ed website to take any video and build a customized lesson around it."
Vimeo
A video hosting, sharing, and services platform. Used by many education, non-profit, and government organizations.
YouTube
An online video platform, owned by Google. Used by education, non-profit, for profit, and government organizations, as well as individuals.

Library Resources

State Library of Oregon

State Library Catalog
Search for videos in DVD format from the State Library's catalog. We can send DVDs to state employees at their agency locations.

Public Libraries in Oregon

A selection of resources for finding local public libraries, with additional information for locating digital and streaming video resources.

OREGON PUBLIC LIBRARIES

Directories and maps to locate an Oregon public library near you.

Oregon Library Directory
A searchable tool that includes contact information about Oregon academic, public, tribal, and volunteer libraries.
Oregon Library Directory Map
This data contains basic contact and location information on public, academic, special, tribal, and volunteer libraries in Oregon from the Oregon Library Directory, maintained by the State Library of Oregon. This data is updated quarterly.
Oregon Public Library Service Areas
This map aims to illustrate current public library service areas in Oregon by local jurisdictions. (Please note that jurisdictions overlap in some areas, where public library service is provided through a combination of municipal and district support.)

COMMON LIBRARY VIDEO DATABASES

A selection of video databases that may be available from your local public library.
Please note, different libraries have different budgets and purchasing capabilities, so not all libraries will have the same options.

hoopla
hoopla is a digital media service offered by libraries that allows users to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to view on computers, tablets, phones, or TVs.
- hoopla Participating Libraries
  Search for a library name or location. Areas shaded in violet represent the coverage area for a particular library.
- Help and FAQs
  hoopla's help and FAQ section. Click on the tags to go to a specific section (such as "Participating Libraries."
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service offered by libraries that includes movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos, which can be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
- Find Your Public Library
  Search Kanopy's public library directory.
- Find Your University
  Search Kanopy's academic library directory (for college or university students).
- Kanopy Support
  Kanopy's support and FAQ section.
Access Video on Demand (Infobase)
The Access Video on Demand streaming video databases from Infobase are curated for public libraries.
This link goes to a product page about the databases. Infobase doesn't provide a library directory for libraries that subscribe to their databases.
Alexander Street (ProQuest)
Alexander Street provides a few different streaming video database to public libraries, such as Public Library Video Online.
This link goes to a product page about the databases. Alexander Street doesn't provide a library directory for libraries that subscribe to their databases.

Training Resources

O'Reilly Playlists

DEI Resources
A selection of DEI-related ebooks, videos, training, and more.
Leadership Resources
Resources to support and strengthen leadership skills.
Microsoft Office 365
Resources to prepare for migration to Office 365.
Microsoft OneDrive
Resources and training about Microsoft OneDrive.
Telecommuting Skills
Recommended resources for working remotely, also known as telecommuting or teleworking.

Zoom Open Office Hours Recordings

Tuesday, June 16, 2020 (Research Topics)
Topics include search demonstrations, search strategies, ebook databases, journal databases, and resources to support clients.
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 (Trauma-Informed Vocational Rehabilitation Resources)
Topics include trauma-informed care, search words/phrases and categories, general trauma-informed care resources, trauma-informed vocational rehabilitation resources, search examples, and discussion.
Thursday, August 27, 2020 (Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Resources)
Topics include resources focused on diversity, equity, inclusion, and racism; search words/phrases and categories; search examples; and discussion.