Resources from WebJunction (free, requires an account):
By way of the State Library: self-paced tutorials in the Basic Skills academy (free to anyone, no user account required):
From the State Library: recorded webinars in the Oregon Staff Academy (free, requires an account, and you must be associated with an Oregon library – you can sign up here):
Additional resources:
If you would like any additional assistance in finding the learning resources you need, please contact Darci Hanning (darci.hanning@slo.oregon.gov).
The following titles are available for ILL, please visit the State Library's LIS collection web page for more information.
Beginning Cataloging by
Now thoroughly updated to include recent changes with RDA, this easy-to-use primer provides an introduction to standardized cataloging that will benefit library technicians as well as students in library technician and teacher librarian programs. This easy-to-use primer provides a complete introduction to current standard cataloging practice. The simple language, helpful examples, and clear descriptions of processes and techniques make it a valuable tool for any beginning cataloger or worker in a technical services department. Updated with key information about RDA principles and practices and following the same pragmatic approach as the first edition, the book empowers students with an understanding of the core principles and language of cataloging. Readers will learn how to apply standard descriptive cataloging rules to assign subject headings and classification numbers and to create electronic records. The book first examines the cataloging-in-publication data found on the verso of most books. Then, chapter by chapter, it explains how this data can be developed into a full bibliographic record that can be used in an online public catalog, covering all types of material formats (books, audiovisuals, images, sound, electronic resources and more). This guide will also serve as a workbook in formal education programs or distance education programs and be useful to library technicians and those working in areas where formal training is inaccessible. Provides clear and comprehensible explanations of the rules and tools used by libraries to catalog and classify their materials Illustrative examples for each aspect of cataloging, classification, RDA, and MARC computer encoding Covers all types of material formats, including books, audiovisuals, images, sound, electronic resources, and more Offers numerous practical exercises as well as a glossary of cataloging terms and tools
Cataloging Correctly for Kids by
Cataloging library materials for children in the internet age has never been as challenging or as important. RDA: Resource Description and Access is now the descriptive standard, there are new ways to find materials using classifications, and subject heading access has been greatly enhanced by the keyword capabilities of today's online catalogs. It's the perfect moment to present a completely overhauled edition of this acclaimed bestseller. The new sixth edition guides catalogers, children's librarians, and LIS students in taking an effective approach towards materials intended for children and young adults. Informed by recent studies of how children search, this handbook's top-to-bottom revisions address areas such as how RDA applies to a variety of children's materials, with examples provided; authority control, bibliographic description, subject access, and linked data; electronic resources and other non-book materials; and cataloging for non-English-speaking and preliterate children. With advice contributed by experienced, practicing librarians, this one-stop resource offers a complete overview of the best methods for enabling children to find the information they want and need.
Cataloging for School Librarians by
Cataloging for School Librarians, Second Edition presents the theory and practice of cataloging and classification to students and practitioners needing a clear sequential process to help them overcome cataloging anxiety. By following the instructions in this book, the new cataloger will become proficient at creating bibliographic records that meet current national standards, and make library materials accessible to students and faculty. This new edition fully integrates RDA while referencing its antecedent, AACR2. FRBR, Sears, the Dewey Decimal Classification and the implications of Web-Scale Discovery services are covered. It presents numerous examples of how to catalog books, non-print and electronic library materials using the MARC format. To reinforce learning, each chapter concludes with a revised review quiz and critical thinking questions. Cataloging for School Librarians, Second Edition includes sample full MARC records, a glossary and an index.
Cataloging Library Resources by
While there are many cataloging texts, very few are written specifically for library support staff. This is the one and only book purposefully aligned with the new American Library Association - Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) competency standards for Cataloging and Classification. Written in clear language by someone who teaches cataloging in a library support staff program and featuring practical examples, Cataloging Library Resources: An Introduction will help library support staff become effective catalogers. Other books on this topic are written for professional librarians rather than support staff. And although 85% of library support staff do not hold professional degrees, many are expected to do the complex and technical work of catalogers. This book provides many examples that support staff can use to learn how to catalog all types of library print, media, and digital materials using the most up-to-date Library of Congress standards. Using this handbook as a guide, readers will be able to perform the ALA-LSSC cataloging and classification competencies and the new RDA, FRBR, and BIBFRAME standards listed below: - Apply and manage the appropriate processes, computer technology, and equipment for cataloging and classification. - Apply principles of Resource Description and Access (RDA) and the Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR) when creating cataloging records. - Apply principles of the Bibliographic Framework Initiative (BIBFRAME) and utilize the BIBFRAME model to create cataloging records. - Use the basic cataloging and classification tools, both print and online, including bibliographic utilities and format standards. - Understand the value of authority control and its basic principles, and can identify and apply appropriate access points for personal names, corporate bodies, series, and subjects. - Explain the value and advantages of cooperative or collaborative cataloging practices to enhance services. - Know the basics of standard metadata formats and cataloging rules to select, review, and edit catalog records, and to generate metadata in various formats. - And more
Catalog It! by
Whether you're a practicing cataloger looking for a short text to update you on the application of RDA to cataloging records or a school librarian who needs a quick resource to answer cataloging questions, this guide is for you. Since the last edition of this invaluable text was published, the library world has experienced a revolution in descriptive cataloging the likes of which has not been seen since the early 1980s. This updated, third edition of an established and well-respected guide makes it easy for you to stay in step with those monumental changes. The book will help you understand the latest fundamentals of cataloging so you can get items on the library shelves quickly and efficiently. Every chapter has been revised. Changes in standards, including RDA and BISAC, that were alluded to in the second edition are discussed in depth and illustrated with explanations, and sample problem sets are included so you can put theory into practice. In addition, the book provides you with clear headings for easy scanning as well as cheat sheets and templates for creating records for book and non-book items. Previous editions of this text have been used by library practitioners and library and information science professors across the country because of its spot-on, easy-to-follow guidance on cataloging for school libraries. This new edition builds upon those strengths, adding everything you need to know about current, groundbreaking changes. Thoroughly updates a best-selling, essential guide to cataloging Addresses the new standards specifically as they apply to school libraries Helps school librarians understand and implement the new cataloging standards in their collections Distills the latest information and presents it in a format that is clear and accessible Fills the need for up-to-the-minute cataloging guidance for the busy librarian who wants information in a hurry
Introduction to Cataloging and Classification by
A new edition of this best-selling textbook reintroduces the topic of library cataloging from a fresh, modern perspective. Not many books merit an eleventh edition, but this popular text does. Newly updated, Introduction to Cataloging and Classification provides an introduction to descriptive cataloging based on contemporary standards, explaining the basic tenets to readers without previous experience, as well as to those who merely want a better understanding of the process as it exists today. The text opens with the foundations of cataloging, then moves to specific details and subject matter such as Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR), Functional Requirements for Authority Data (FRAD), the International Cataloging Principles (ICP), and RDA. Unlike other texts, the book doesn't presume a close familiarity with the MARC bibliographic or authorities formats; ALA's Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2nd Edition, revised (AACR2R); or the International Standard Bibliographic Description (ISBD). Subject access to library materials is covered in sufficient depth to make the reader comfortable with the principles and practices of subject cataloging and classification. In addition, the book introduces MARC, BIBFRAME, and other approaches used to communicate and display bibliographic data. Discussions of formatting, presentation, and administrative issues complete the book; questions useful for review and study appear at the end of each chapter. Delineates the new cataloging landscape Shares a principles-based perspective An introductory text for beginners and intermediate students Emphasizes descriptive and subject cataloging, as well as format-neutral cataloging Covers new cataloging rules and RDA
Additional resources to explore: