"Agricultural Research Service programs generate many publicly accessible data products ... These databases, datasets, and data collections may be maintained by ARS or by ARS in cooperation with other organizations."
"The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Even small plots of land - whether rural or urban - growing fruit, vegetables or some food animals count if $1,000 or more of such products were raised and sold, or normally would have been sold, during the Census year."
"The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples."
"NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information." (FKA National Climatic Data Center)
Climate Data Online "provides free access to [NCEI]'s archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information."
"...Currently providing two approaches to enable searching NOAA's vast data holdings: the traditional NOAA Data Catalog for all data, and the new NOAA OneStop catalog which initially includes only the archived datasets but will eventually replace the traditional catalog."
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references."
"Our data and tools are the digital information in a format suitable for direct input to software that can analyze its meaning in the scientific, engineering, or business context for which the data were collected." Includes real-time data, APIs, GIS data, and more.
"Our programs produce accurate geologic maps and 3-D geologic frameworks that provide critical data for sustaining and improving the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation. They also organize, maintain, and publish the geospatial baseline of the Nation's topography, natural landscape, built environment and more." Includes topographical and geologic maps, GIS data, and more.
"The Water Quality Portal (WQP) is a cooperative service sponsored by the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the National Water Quality Monitoring Council (NWQMC) that integrates publicly available water quality data from the USGS National Water Information System (NWIS), the EPA STOrage and RETrieval (STORET) Data Warehouse, and the USDA ARS Sustaining The Earth’s Watersheds - Agricultural Research Database System (STEWARDS)."
Datasets from the Federal Reserve, organized according to categories: bank assets and liabilities, bank structure data, business finance, dealer financing terms, exchange rates and international data, financial accounts, household finance, industrial activity, interest rates, money stock measures, etc.
"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
"NCEE conducts unbiased, large-scale evaluations of education programs supported by federal funds; provides technical assistance; and supports the development and use of research and evaluation throughout the United States."
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) ... is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing."
"Committee reports are one set of documents among the variety of document types produced by House and Senate committees that address legislative and other policy issues, investigations, and internal committee matters."
"GAO’s reports and testimonies give Congress, federal agencies, and the public timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can improve government operations and save taxpayers billions of dollars."
"The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation."
"These data reports provide information concerning the types of crimes committed, the offenders who commit those crimes, the punishments imposed, and the manner in which the sentencing guidelines were applied."
"Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it."
An interactive map displaying "state-level estimates of individuals and families experiencing homelessness, based on ... [c]ommunity point-in-time counts ... as reported by Continuums of Care to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and [c]hildren and youth who experienced homelessness ... as reported by public schools to the U.S. Department of Education."
The Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) provides a wealth of information and data on alternative and renewable fuels, advanced vehicles, fuel-saving strategies, and emerging transportation technologies.
"...the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) is a politically objective supplier of trusted and statistically sound baseline, contextual, and trend information used to shape transportation policy, investments, and research across the U.S. and abroad."
"The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment."
"Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers."
"Since 1975, ETA has maintained a rigorous research and evaluation approach to informing policy, currently carried out by the Division of Research and Evaluation (DRE) under Section 169 of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA)."