InfoGuides: Finding Data & Statistics: Data Repositories

Data Repositories

Data Repository Directories

These links provide access to data repository directories -- groups of data repositories.

NIH Data Sharing Repositories
"This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network."
Open Access Directory -- Data Respositories
A list of repositories and databases for open data, organized by discipline, as part of the Open Access Directory.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
"OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held."
Note: To limit to data repositories, check the box for Datasets in the "Content Types" section on the Advanced Search page.
re3data.org (Registry of Research Data Repositories)
"re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines."
Recommended Data Repositories (from Scientific Data)
A list of recommended data repositories from the journal Scientific Data, which is published by Nature Research.

Interdisciplinary Data Repositories

These data repositories are interdisciplinary and do not focus on any particular subject.

Dryad Digital Repository
"The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types."
Harvard Dataverse
"Harvard Dataverse is a repository for research data."
Mendeley Data
"Quickly and easily upload files of any type and we will host your research data for you. Your experimental research data will have a permanent home on the web that you can refer to."
Open Science Framework
"OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration. ... Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that might be helpful to your own research."

Disciplinary Data Repositories

The following data repositories, from educational institutions and/or organizations, are sorted according to disciplinary topics.
(For government data repositories, go to the Oregon Agencies, Federal Agencies, or International Agencies & Organizations sections.)

Data Refuge
Data Refuge is a community-driven, collaborative project to preserve public climate and environmental data.
DataONE
DataONE is a community driven program providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
Environmental Data Initiative
"The EDI Data Portal contains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations."
GBIF (Global Biodiversity Information Facility)
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
Marine Geoscience Data System
"The Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) provides a suite of tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins."
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
NKN Data Repository (Northwest Knowledge Network)
The Northwest Knowledge Network (NKN) is a unit within the University of Idaho (UI) Office of Research and Economic Development (ORED) that provides research data management and computing support for UI researchers and their regional, national, and international collaborators.
PANGAEA (Data Publisher for Earth & Environmental Science)
The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
NBER Data Library
A variety of data types and sources from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Statista
A business data platform that provides insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
Limited free access.
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

diversitydatakids.org – datasets
diversitydatakids.org is a comprehensive research program to monitor the state of wellbeing, diversity, opportunity and equity of U.S. children.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

American National Election Studies – Data Center
Time series, pilots, and other datasets available for download from American National Election Studies.
Comparative Agendas Project
The Comparative Agendas Project (CAP) assembles and codes information on the policy processes of governments from around the world.
diversitydatakids.org – datasets
diversitydatakids.org is a comprehensive research program to monitor the state of wellbeing, diversity, opportunity and equity of U.S. children.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Qualitative Data Repository
The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives.
Statista
A business data platform that provides insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
Limited free access.
Vital Statistics on Congress (Brookings)
Vital Statistics’ purpose is to collect and provide useful data on America’s first branch of government, including data on the composition of its membership, its formal procedure (such as the use of the filibuster), informal norms, party structure, and staff.
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
Established in 2003, the mission of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative’s Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to expedite and support effective use of data from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to improve child, youth, family and community health and well-being in the US.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
diversitydatakids.org – datasets
diversitydatakids.org is a comprehensive research program to monitor the state of wellbeing, diversity, opportunity and equity of U.S. children.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by IHME.
Health and Medical Care Archive
The mission of Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is to increase the understanding of and improve health and health care in the United States through secondary analysis of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation-supported data collections.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Hall of Justice (Sunlight Foundation)
Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Qualitative Data Repository
The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
Established in 2003, the mission of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative’s Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to expedite and support effective use of data from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to improve child, youth, family and community health and well-being in the US.
diversitydatakids.org – datasets
diversitydatakids.org is a comprehensive research program to monitor the state of wellbeing, diversity, opportunity and equity of U.S. children.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by IHME.
Health and Medical Care Archive
The mission of Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is to increase the understanding of and improve health and health care in the United States through secondary analysis of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation-supported data collections.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
Disability Statistics
Online resources for U.S. disability statistics from Cornell University.
diversitydatakids.org – datasets
diversitydatakids.org is a comprehensive research program to monitor the state of wellbeing, diversity, opportunity and equity of U.S. children.
General Social Survey (GSS)
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Qualitative Data Repository
The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives.
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Crash Modification Factors Clearinghouse
The Crash Modification Factors Clearinghouse provides a searchable database of CMFs along with guidance and resources on using CMFs in road safety practice.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
IEEE DataPort
IEEE DataPort provides a sustainable platform to all data owners in support of research and IEEE’s overall mission of Advancing Technology for Humanity
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
OpenEI
OpenEI is a trusted source of energy data, specifically for renewable energy and energy efficiency.
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
Disability Statistics
Online resources for U.S. disability statistics from Cornell University.
General Social Survey (GSS)
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
For browsing options, go to Categories
PolicyMap: Public Edition
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- Special Edition: COVID-19
Wolfram Data Repository
With datasets of many types and from many sources, the Wolfram Data Repository is built to be a global resource for public data and data-backed publication.

Finding Data & Statistics

Dataset Search

Definitions

Data Repositories

Data Repository Directories

Interdisciplinary Data Repositories

Disciplinary Data Repositories