Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2021 Oregon Public Library Statistical Report Guide

Instructions for completing the annual Oregon Public Library Statistical Report.

Changes and updates!

What's new for 2021?

New platform!

The biggest news is that we've moved the Statistical Report to our existing grant (and now data!) management platform. We hope this is a positive change for you as well as for us at the State Library. This is the same platform we're using for Ready to Read and LSTA grants, so it will already be familiar to most of you.

The reasons for this change include:

  • increased control of our survey and increased flexibility over our data-collection process
  • simplified user experience; fewer fields to review (and one less password to remember!)
  • financial savings, which will go directly back into other efforts of our LSTA Program

Other overall changes

  • Question numbering: Decimals are pointless (get it?).... so we've removed them! For example, Question 1.01 in last year's survey is now Question 101.
  • New (and/or significantly updated) questions for 2021 are highlighted throughout this guide in red.
  • Fields that are auto-calculated, filled by the State Library from other sources, or pulled from previously-entered administrative fields will no longer appear in the report form; however, instructions for these questions now appear in green with a grey highlight throughout this guide and will become part of the final statewide dataset.

For questions where you have no data to report....

Previously, we have asked you to enter n.c. for "not counted." This year, we ask that you enter -1 instead.

For questions where zero is the "known" number to report, please enter 0. For questions where the data measure was not collected or counted (but is most likely not zero), enter -1.

Getting Started

Getting started with the 2021 Oregon Public Library Statistical Report

This guide has been updated as of May 5, 2021, and has up-to-date information and FAQs about the 2021 report. Please use the menu on the left to navigate through the various sections of the report instructions.

Important dates:

  • This year, the reporting period will open by early July, and is meant to capture data from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021.
  • The statutory deadline to complete your library's report is October 31, 2021.  
  • Ross from the State Library will follow up with you concerning any questions about your report by mid-January 2022. 
  • You have until December 31, 2021, to request (in writing) any necessary changes to your submitted data. No changes will be made after that date.
  • Statewide 2021 data will be published on the State Library's website by the end of January 2022.
  • You may request a copy of your library's 2021 data at any point after it has been submitted or during the data reporting process.

An announcement with instructions for how to complete the 2021 report using our new platform will be emailed to all Oregon public library directors, and staff who completed the 2020 report, by early July 2021.

A blank sample 2021 survey is available as a PDF below. You can print any page of this guide using the Print button at the bottom of each page. 

New questions

New and/or updated questions

307 Does your library participate in E-Rate? (Updated question and definition). 

Choose Yes or No to tell us whether your library received a telecommunications discount through E-Rate participation during the July 1- June 30 period. Please use USAC data to confirm, if you are uncertain.


410b Internal service charges. 

For municipal and county-based libraries only: Please tell us what typical internal service charges (if any) are included in the amount reported in 410 (All Other Operating Expenditures). These services may be provided inclusively by your city or county. Please select all that apply.

  • Administration
  • Facilities
  • Human Resources
  • Information Technology
  • Legal
  • Finance
  • other

507 Other circulating physical items. 

UPDATED definition! Report a single figure that includes the following: all circulating physical items other than print books (501) physical audio units (503), physical video units (505), and serials. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. These can include a variety of items types, such as wi-fi hotspots, sewing machines, cake pans, tools, puppets, toys, kits, fishing rods, GPS units, telescopes, etc. Report uncataloged paperbacks that are tracked and treated as part of the permanent collection here. Do not count paperback exchanges, microforms, loose sheet music, maps, or pictures.

533 Number of Spanish language items.

Please report the total number of items in the library's collection in Spanish. This should include all physical material types (print, audio, video), as well as items from e-content collections.

534 Items in other languages. 

Please report items in the library's collection that are in languages other than English or Spanish. Check all that apply. 


616 Number of first-time circulation of Other library materials. 

Circulation of all physical items other than print books, physical audio units, physical video units, and serials. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. These can include a variety of items types, such as wi-fi hotspots, sewing machines, cake pans, tools, telescopes, board games, video games, etc.

617 Number of renewals of Other library materials. 

Count renewals of Other library materials (as defined above in 616).


801b Reporting Method for total number of Internet computer sessions

Please choose one of these two options for how Internet computers sessions (reported in Question 801) are tracked:

  • Actual count (you track each use as it happens)
  • Estimate (using a sampling method)

802 Total number of Internet-connected computers used by general public 

Updated definition! Report the number of the library’s Internet computers (including personal computers (PCs), laptops, tablets, and other devices), whether purchased, leased, or donated, used by the general public in the library. Do not include computers that connect to the Internet for a dedicated purpose other than general use (e.g., to access an OPAC or specific database, or to train the public).

804 Number of Wireless Sessions provided by the library annually. 

Updated definition! Report the number of wireless sessions provided by the library wireless service annually. Count one session for each time a device connects to the library's wireless network, regardless of the duration of connection. If possible, only count sessions for patron devices and exclude library devices such as routers, access points, printers, and public access computers; otherwise, if patron devices cannot be isolated, report sessions for all devices.

NOTE: If an annual count of wireless sessions is unavailable, count wireless sessions during a typical week or weeks using methods like hardware logging or network scanning, and multiply the count to represent an annual estimate. (Do not conduct visual surveys of devices in use as a method to establish a count of a typical week.) A “typical week” is a time that is neither unusually busy nor unusually slow. Avoid holiday times, vacation periods for key staff, or days when unusual events are taking place in the community or in the library. Choose a week in which the library is open its regular hours.
 

804b Reporting Method for Wireless Sessions. 

Regarding the number of Wireless Sessions (804) entered, is this an annual count or an annual estimate based on a typical week or weeks of hardware logging or network scanning?
Select one of the following:

  • Actual count
  • Estimate (using a sampling method)

821 (B20 for multiple branches) Year of Building's Original Construction.

The year the library building was completed, as stated by the building permit or a historical record.

822 (B21 for multiple branches) Year of Building's Most Recent Structural (i.e. NOT Cosmetic) Remodel.

A structural remodel involves more significant improvements than a cosmetic renovation. Generally, it includes moving walls and changing the property's floor plan, changes are significant enough to alter building facts such as the number of rooms, the addition of an elevator, increases of greater than 10% to the square footage, etc.

Looking for older stats?

Looking for last year's data and information?

The full Oregon Public Library Statistical Report data from 2020 is now posted on the State Library of Oregon's website, and the majority of this dataset has been submitted to the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), to be released with their national Public Library Survey (PLS) data at a later date.